Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (268 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
37
96
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


268 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

The flavor is complex if not confusing and that is the fun about this particular rum. It's not a "great" rum but still falls into the "Very good" rum category and is worth trying. I also think being a Reserve Rum made from Appleton the bar was set pretty high.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Not the greatest Appletons but for the price you pay it will deliver. Can be drunk on its own and isn't too rough, at its best mixing with your favourite side tipple. Will give you an honest taste of Jamaica and go well with your jerk pork.

Although if you can afford to go higher up the Appletons rum tree, you will be rewarded.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 424 ratings

Entry Level rum, not so funny, it's not enough aged, too flat, limited finish, a lot of glycenol, too harsh.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 214 ratings

Ușor.. De vară :) Un rom simplu dar curat. Merge bine on the rocks și probabil perfect pentru mix-uri mai speciale..

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Jamaican rums are not very good in my opinion. The V/X is a little to harsh for me, plus the alcohol burn going down is more than I would prefer. Now, the Appleton 12 is a good tasting rum, but for $35, their are other rums, that are least expensive and just as good. Jamaican rums have a distinct flavor all their own.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Tried during visit in Jamaica...even that place didn't made good opinion. Sorry but that's just typical cheap rum. But price is above that taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kyle from United States with 18 ratings

Wouldn't drink this neat or over ice. It's just lacking the volume I would enjoy in a neat rum. However, it does work great as a mixer if that's your drink preference. Step up to the 12 year if you prefer drinking neat or over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I had low expectations for this rum, but it surprised me. There was no alcohol on the nose, and the flavor was rich and fairly smooth. Definitely blended. Actually (and again, surprisingly) it reminded me a lot of Havana Club 7, but even that has some alcohol/varnish on the nose when first poured.

Some of this may have been due to the fact that my sample was an old 50ml bottle, and may have been pre-oxidized.

In any case, it exceeded my expectations, and I can definitely see how many regard(ed) it as a workhorse rum. Now that Appleton/Campari has rebranded their lineup (and continues to do so with J Wray), I'll be sad not to see this on the shelves, but may stock the Reserve if I have shelf space.

7+

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

I'm still fairly new to rum, but I've had a fair share recently. To me, this is a bit harsh on the finish. I get some caramel notes and not much vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Rum is very simple and smooth . It can be sipped while drinking - yes. Difficult taste and aroma you will not find here - an entry-level blend. Drink pure in the rocks or cocktail. Without frills. I would prefer to add money and buy 12 years.

Score 6.5

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

and it will show it's quality. Somewhat aromatic, but just too harsh and burning for my taste to drink it pure or with water/ice.
I am using this one for cocktails that need a tasty rum, the mixing takes away the harshness and burn.