Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


257 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Mix with 1/2 a lime and some cane juice and you have a great daiquiri with just enough cask flavor to stand out and give some depth. Not too shabby.

Posted almost 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

The color and aroma of Appleton V/X is as good as any rum I have but taste and after burn are not as good as its 12 year old brother or other high end rums. But when you consider that a bottle is only $16, this one is definitley worth having it in your rum cabinet.

Posted about 5 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

Good color, palatable even without mix but clearly invites the drinker to try some of the more aged siblings.

Posted about 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I have to say for Appleton the V/X which is a blend between 5 and 10 year old (hence the V and X) is a great rum to start out the morning with. It is a nice lighter flavored rum not so strong with the oak or oak barrel flavors produced in the extra, 21, or 30 year. While clearly the 12 which is a blend of 12-18 or the 21-30 year old rum offers much more to the palate the V/X is not bad when you don't want a full on aged rum. This also beats the estate reserve which previously carried the aged statement of 8 years but no longer does. The 8 year while slightly aged longer considering color and oak flavor does not demand the 10+ dollar premium.

I personally find the nosing to be spicy, vanilla, rather subdued little detectable alcohol. The end palate which does offer a few seconds of astringency but quickly flows to a rather flavorful enjoyable finish which does last for a few min. I get more spice in my sweet finish with cinnamon, clove, and oddly some light chlorine on the tongue after the spices fade like I just jumped into a pool.

Overall a decent rum in this range for sipping and to start out any day and continue perhaps until the evening when another rum to finish the night may be called for. Subtract the astringency most likely due to younger blended barrels aged with column distillate and you have a real winner here above maybe a 6-7 rating. While Appleton has claimed the rum remains the same in the new label we can only hope that this astringent quality has been reduced or eliminated such as it was in Brugal's update of their Anejo. Hopefully they took out the chlorine which is very evident when drinking other aged rums along side.

Posted about 5 years ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

This is very solid drink, nice to have it for a long evening. Very good taste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Ce rhum est agréable à boire, belle bouteille d'un bon rapport qualité prix (26.5$EC soit 9€).
Si le nez est prometteur (banane, fruits secs), c'est un rhum de mélasse qui manque terriblement de corps.

Posted about 5 years ago by Devan from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Entry level rum that presents a dark copper, almost burnished colour, quite pleasant to look at. Initially light to medium body, legs don't quite cling to the glass. Moreish scent on the nose, spicy, oaky and citrus all waft nicely together. All the flavours of a stable rum present, molasses and brown sugar, oak, butter, spice (slightly hot but not overbearing) and definitely orange citrus. Not smooth bordering on sharp (for my palate), lasting hotness in mouth and throat. Buttery taste lingers.
Overall would not see this as a sipper, more or a mixer. Did thoroughly enjoy on built ice and a wedge of orange to bring out the citrus, which punches through the cola nicely.

Posted about 5 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Tho not a nice nose from my bottle, very surprisingly smooth to sip. Easy to drink but a bit on the bland side, so obviously good for mixing. A nice 'dual purpose' rum in that way, but sippers will want more flavour or character, and cocktail drinkers can use something cheaper.

Posted about 5 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Its definitely not sweet but its just smooth enough and the right price to make a very enjoyable drink. I don't think its a sipper but its not going to embarrass you in most occasions.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its a typical mix drink or to drink with a coke i find it rough on the throat

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I think all Appletons rums are great value and full of flavour . This to my taste is a great rum for a decent cola with a slice and some ice ! I also have the Appletons 12 which i intend to open soon and i acquired a bottle of the Appletons Master Blenders Legacy recently ... Which i will probably never open as i will never find a replacement !!

Posted about 5 years ago by Know from Switzerland with 8 ratings

J'ai trouvé son odeur agressive, mais excellente et très fruitée ! Très vanillé en bouche ! Je l'ai préféré mixé avec du coca, que seul. Ce n'est pas mon préféré, mais très bon rapport qualité/prix :)
I found his odor offensive but excellent and very fruity ! Very vanilla taste in the mouth ! I preferred it mixed with coke than straight up. This is not my favorite, but very good quality / price ratio :)

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

This is my preferred everyday-rum. The quality, taste and value are excellent.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

All of the Appelton's have great flavor and give off a great aroma. The Estate VX is warm and goes down smooth.

Posted about 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

For those good friends or clients you like, V/X is a premium Mixer that is also a good sipper

Posted about 5 years ago by Scott Stephen from France with 11 ratings

I have been enjoying this rum consistently sine about 1998. It has great flavors. It can be enjoyed sipping, on ice and mixed, though I do mix it most often. An all around good rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

but rough on the throat. Dark color with some good after tastes!

Posted over 5 years ago by Marsellus1 from Canada with 3 ratings

Appleton rum with cold, freshly squeezed orange juice...preferably on a beach in Negril, Jamaica...life doesn't get much better than that!

Posted over 5 years ago by Gene Armond Jr from United States with 7 ratings

Decent rum, good caramel color, harsh on the nose, great mixing rum, pour over ice add some apple juice and enjoy, I'd prefer other rums to this one but easily available at your local supermarket at a good price. Ok rum, just mix it baby!

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I received a bottle from my daughter who visited Jamaica. I think this might be a good rum for mixing, but I like mine straight, and this rum lacks the smoothness that my other favorites deliver.

Posted over 5 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

This is a good rum. I have to revisit this one, because the spices caught me off guard. Not one I would normally chose for sipping neat (first thoughts).

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

Very good rum with a right price. Often Jamaica rums are bottled 100 proof or more. Appleton use always the right proof. Recommended !

Posted over 5 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Deze Appleton Estate rum heeft een volle en krachtige karakter die voor lange tijd heeft gerijpt. De warme gouden kleur wordt omringd door een warme en bevredigend aroma. Appleton Estate VX is een perfecte blend van 15 geselecteerde, gevarieerde stijlen van rum die allemaal gerijpt en handgemaakte eikenhouten vaten. Elke rum heeft voor een minimale periode van 5 jaar tot 10 jaar gerijpt in de gebruikte Jack Daniels vaten die door Appleton wordt gebruikt om tot haar unieke en karakteristieke smaak te komen.

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Pot Still underpins this Jamaican offering and for me, makes it my go to for Rum and coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Not as good as the 12 but it is not the same price.
Thid has Appleton signature taste mixed with coke it is okay. Not that expensive