Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (271 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
39
97
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

271 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

This is OK as a mixer rum or consumed with coke but completely dreadful as straight up or on the rocks rum... Appleton highly priced and over rated

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2661 ratings

Sampled the Appleton Estates VX while escaping the Hurricane Irma to Jamaica during last weekend. This is not a neat sipper. Alcohol smell, taste and burn are just nasty. Mix it with Coke and down it goes, but not as a neat sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

Looks good on the bar at a party, but I have no problem catching a cab and leaving this rum behind. There are a lot more interesting ones to be had, including its mature, spicey older sister.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

Not quite sophisticated enough to be a "sipper". But still good.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Not the greatest Appletons but for the price you pay it will deliver. Can be drunk on its own and isn't too rough, at its best mixing with your favourite side tipple. Will give you an honest taste of Jamaica and go well with your jerk pork.

Although if you can afford to go higher up the Appletons rum tree, you will be rewarded.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Entry Level rum, not so funny, it's not enough aged, too flat, limited finish, a lot of glycenol, too harsh.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Ușor.. De vară :) Un rom simplu dar curat. Merge bine on the rocks și probabil perfect pentru mix-uri mai speciale..

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Jamaican rums are not very good in my opinion. The V/X is a little to harsh for me, plus the alcohol burn going down is more than I would prefer. Now, the Appleton 12 is a good tasting rum, but for $35, their are other rums, that are least expensive and just as good. Jamaican rums have a distinct flavor all their own.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Tried during visit in Jamaica...even that place didn't made good opinion. Sorry but that's just typical cheap rum. But price is above that taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kyle from United States with 18 ratings

Wouldn't drink this neat or over ice. It's just lacking the volume I would enjoy in a neat rum. However, it does work great as a mixer if that's your drink preference. Step up to the 12 year if you prefer drinking neat or over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I had low expectations for this rum, but it surprised me. There was no alcohol on the nose, and the flavor was rich and fairly smooth. Definitely blended. Actually (and again, surprisingly) it reminded me a lot of Havana Club 7, but even that has some alcohol/varnish on the nose when first poured.

Some of this may have been due to the fact that my sample was an old 50ml bottle, and may have been pre-oxidized.

In any case, it exceeded my expectations, and I can definitely see how many regard(ed) it as a workhorse rum. Now that Appleton/Campari has rebranded their lineup (and continues to do so with J Wray), I'll be sad not to see this on the shelves, but may stock the Reserve if I have shelf space.

7+