Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (262 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
35
93
93
14
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


262 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

commentaire a venir

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I had low expectations for this rum, but it surprised me. There was no alcohol on the nose, and the flavor was rich and fairly smooth. Definitely blended. Actually (and again, surprisingly) it reminded me a lot of Havana Club 7, but even that has some alcohol/varnish on the nose when first poured.

Some of this may have been due to the fact that my sample was an old 50ml bottle, and may have been pre-oxidized.

In any case, it exceeded my expectations, and I can definitely see how many regard(ed) it as a workhorse rum. Now that Appleton/Campari has rebranded their lineup (and continues to do so with J Wray), I'll be sad not to see this on the shelves, but may stock the Reserve if I have shelf space.

7+

Ee852f864dbcab730d5319dbf4b29582.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 26 ratings

I'm still fairly new to rum, but I've had a fair share recently. To me, this is a bit harsh on the finish. I get some caramel notes and not much vanilla.

944b592c8ca18a0c300c3ada4de59454.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Rum is very simple and smooth . It can be sipped while drinking - yes. Difficult taste and aroma you will not find here - an entry-level blend. Drink pure in the rocks or cocktail. Without frills. I would prefer to add money and buy 12 years.

Score 6.5

F5bdc512cf10a1dcaa60dedc8cc642c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

and it will show it's quality. Somewhat aromatic, but just too harsh and burning for my taste to drink it pure or with water/ice.
I am using this one for cocktails that need a tasty rum, the mixing takes away the harshness and burn.

2e5b2ea2d06c7a78fa848ce863e75320.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

This was my first Jamaican blended rum and it became my go to for a few years. As I was exposed to more rums it quickly dropped down a bit but I still enjoy a glass on ocassion. Usually with mix though.

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Sweet, a little harsh, and full of spices. Appletons flavor has come to be synonymous with Jamaican spiced rum.

4e3e0e642a2a29a89e0e175fe8d3cffa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Steven Brown from Canada with 3 ratings

A bit harsh, but not bad in a typical tropical fruity drink.

De371f23b22981f5cd7428b702aef820.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Gungun from Sweden with 33 ratings

OK, men är nyfiken på några av de andra Appleton som jag tror är betydligt bättre!

984916f40c51b6b8689990e0dee26f9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Docela dobrý rum. Jamajská klasika. Lepší než Ron Abuelo 5y.

96c324f3b8bde78e2de26f8823b5ab8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Orlando from Canada with 6 ratings

Just as a sign of respect for the people making the rum, I won't give it a 1. If you want to make me mad, serve me this rum. Harsh, bad tasting, this is by far the rum I like the least.