Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


257 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Mit diesem Rum habe ich meine Unschuld verloren.
Habe in den "90er" Jahren diesen Rum nach Hause gebracht,
als es Hierzulande nur Coruba, Bacardi und Stroh-Rum im Handel gab.
Da habe ich bemerkt das Rum etwas leckeres sein kann.
Etwas deftig in der Nase, im Mund jedoch Aromen von Zuckerrohr, Karamell, Toffee.
Im Abgang alles schnell weg.

With this rum I lost my innocence.
In the "90s" I brought this rum home,
As there were only Coruba, Bacardi, and Stroh-Rum in the market.
Since I noticed, that rum something delicious can be.
Slightly strong in the nose, in the mouth however aromas of sugar cane, caramel, toffee.
In the finish, everything is quickly gone.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

Bought this one as a mixer and was surprised. I also would recommend it as a sipping rum. I love the smokey touch of oak and maple. Good introduction into Jamaica Rum. You can't do anything wrong at this price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Appleton was the rum that started it all for me. I distinctly remember being 15 and having a buyer get me this rum. The idiot walks in with a my 20$ bill outward all scared and we take a trip down the liquor isle looking like whores in church. At a very high volume he goes IS THIS THE ONE DAD WOULD LIKE. Me and this guy look nothing alike so even Helen Keller could see we were pulling something. Yes that is what DAD (me) would like. I still have that bottle half full today 8 years later and will never drink it for nostalgia. Appleton has a distinct smell that can only be described as "appleton". Its a dry wood molasses kind with a hover of alcohol in it. Right off the bat you can tell its gonna be a dry rum. Taking a swig of appleton straight isnt the greatest idea. Its harsh on entry then smooth then harsh then smooth then harsh. But appleton has the most distinct flavour barrel of them all. Its an oak but its not like the basic oak barrel wearing her yoga pants and northface (if you get that props to you). The appleton oak is smokey and you can tell many other batches were made. Not a lot of sweetness but it teeters on just the right amount of dryness. Its not very complex in its nature, just very distinct. In coke it really hails high though. Because the harshness is gone and what you have left is the distinct Appleton flavor. Honestly though with appleton its best sticking with the v/x and not bother with the 8 year, Reserve or 12 year because they all honestly taste the same, shoot for the older years like the blend and 20 year. All I know is some day I will go to an auction and adopt the 50 year as my only child. Until then !

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

...von Cocktails, Longdrinks und co. Für "straight" Geniesser nicht geeignet.

Posted over 4 years ago by protozor from Belgium with 26 ratings

A good rum, nothing amazing compared to the 12 years old from the same family. But for this price range, nothing to complain about.

Posted over 4 years ago by snowlock from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

It has nice aroma but quite harsh in the taste. Good to drink with an ice-cube.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

I gave this rum 6 stars as it's not quite great however it's not quite bad either. For me it's sort of a good middle of the road rum. The flavor has notes of vanilla, toffee, caramel and some ripe fruits. For the simple cocktails, using this as a Rum an Coke for me is not so great. It feels like it is lacking. However in more developed cocktails as a Blood Orange cocktail, maybe a Rum Punch, or a Mai Tai. This rum also goes well with Apple juice.

Posted over 4 years ago by jake from New Zealand with 23 ratings

After reading good reviews & my mates talking it up like the best drink ever I think I expected more. Not keen on it myself. It's good to have on the self so I can keep friends happy. Then go drink the better rums for myself.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Thomas McClure from United States with 16 ratings

This rum is pretty smooth for not being as sweet as I am used to. It is hard for me to just mix it with my Sprite, it is just a little too harsh. Now, when I make a rum sour, it mixes almost magically. I would suggest using this with mixes that include more acidity. Things with pineapple would probably work really well.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rave13 from Italy with 12 ratings

Rum onesto. Buon mix ma poco persistente. Adatto ad essere gustato in compagnia, poco impegnativo ma comunque apprezzabile.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dimas from US with 15 ratings

It a good version for drinking on the rock but still it will not be disrespected if you mix it.
It is not a sweet rum, this follows the classic school, strong, dry but with a special smell that makes it worth to try

Posted almost 5 years ago by Severin from France with 11 ratings

Rhum agréable, sur les fruits secs, les épices. On peut y aller les yeux fermés vu son prix. Bien fait, pas transcendant tout de même

Posted almost 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Buy this if you want to mix a lot drinks for your garden party. But dont expect to be blown away by complexity and lingering flavours.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

I lost my rum-drinker's virginity with this one. It was not that horrible nor painful, but also nothing of a "wow" type. But i like to remain this memory, its a fine basic rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

πολύς ντόρος για το τίποτα. ενα ρούμι της σειράς μου φάνηκε.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mike carter from United States with 5 ratings

I enjoyed this rum over it's most basic siblings but doesn't compare to their older 12 yr. brother.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Alan from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I found Appleton Estate V/X Rum quite light in texture which I like with upfront flavours and an okay drink with coke. The thing that sets it apart from the usual popular £15 - £20 brands in the supermarket brands is potential. I can imagine that if let to mature for some years it would deliver on aroma and flavour. Overall a good rum mixed with coke.

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Not too great but not bad either. A good run of the mill rum for mixing.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Screech from Canada with 5 ratings

Used to drink this in university sometimes and had good memories. Bought a bottle recently and was a little disappointed. It's a little bit better and a little more expensive than your mainstream buys.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Nice rum, but a bit oily. With some water/coke the oilyness is no longer a problem though.
Has the kick to it as you'd expect from a Jamaican rum. Give it a 6 as its not good enough as a sipper.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

I perfer the 21 yr but I'll drink the v/x in a pinch.

Posted almost 5 years ago by NickTheGreek from Australia with 18 ratings

If you are looking for a quality everyday drinking rum, look no further than the V/X. Great entry level drink with a nice amount of age.

I wish I had more of this stuff, but I don't at the moment. It was so good, me and a mate drank the whole bottle in 1 sitting.

Really enjoyable...Drank it with ice and a mixer (Coke Zero).

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

When mixing, this will succeed, when mixing with other rums, it'll do even better. It is okay neat, but not its strongpoint. This can mix with almost any flavor and stay pleasant.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

I love Banana and caramel aftertaste , but the first sip has not fully convinced me. I think in the same category, there are many more great rums. Good choice for the price

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Back when I was so much younger then today; this was my first try at a premium rum for mixing. My parents use to keep a bottle on hand for house guests. Needless to say; some of it may have gone missing over the years.
This was the first bottle that made me realize there was a difference between rums like this and rums like Lambs, Bacardi and Cpt. Morgan.
Though I don't drink this very often anymore; there will always be a place on my shelf for the VX as a mixer.