Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (268 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
37
96
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


268 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by DrNovelo from Mexico with 27 ratings

No tiene definido un sabor, así como no tiene definido un tiempo de alejamiento, se me hizo un ron barato bastante caro.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 5 ratings

I really love the flavor of Appleton Estate V/X when mixed with Coke/Pepsi. This is my go to for a strong, flavourful Rum and Coke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Stéphane from Canada with 2 ratings

At least on the rocks because a bit harsh for me.
Nice product.
Prefer the older ones from this Family.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Was expecting more from this one been spending a lot time just sitting in my bar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Appleton produces some higher rated rums, but this one left me wanting. The blend does lend to a unique flavor but misses the take.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Daniel from Russian Federation with 4 ratings

This was my first Appleton Estate rum, so I was going in expecting a whole bouquet of flavours. Unfortunately, save for some very pleasant softness, there really wasn't that much of an exotic flavour to it. Yes - it's a Jamaican-style rum, so some cask burn and spice are expected, but the journey was over too soon, and the finish wasn't very delicate either (it does gain in complexity after a couple of sips, and benefits from some breathing time). It's a pretty average rum that can be commended for no added sugar. But let's not forget, sometimes added sugar actually allows other flavours to come through (such as the case with Zacapa 23 Solera). I'm looking forward to trying other Appleton rums I keep hearing legends about.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is a pretty good drink. No added sugar and so it's got a bit of a burn and it's not super smooth but it's good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 2 ratings

Love the thick sweetness compared to cheaper spiced rums.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Sampled the Appleton Estates VX while escaping the Hurricane Irma to Jamaica during last weekend. This is not a neat sipper. Alcohol smell, taste and burn are just nasty. Mix it with Coke and down it goes, but not as a neat sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

Looks good on the bar at a party, but I have no problem catching a cab and leaving this rum behind. There are a lot more interesting ones to be had, including its mature, spicey older sister.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

Not quite sophisticated enough to be a "sipper". But still good.