Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (268 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
37
96
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


268 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

The color and aroma of Appleton V/X is as good as any rum I have but taste and after burn are not as good as its 12 year old brother or other high end rums. But when you consider that a bottle is only $16, this one is definitley worth having it in your rum cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by FaithMonax from Canada with 13 ratings

I love the smoothness of this rum. My go-to for cocktails, as it is both cheap & good!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Buen ron para cocktails. Blend de 5 a 10 anos. Buen color y aromas.

Ffffff

Posted at The L Garage 1 year ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

This is a flexible rum. I can happily sip it neat, I can mix it up. I don't feel like it's too fancy for mixing, but also not too low-brow to sip.

Nice golden color. Light orange aroma, with other flavors peeking through. There's no mistaking the Jamaican in this one. Nice flavor on the tongue, not sweet, light bite. Lingers a bit when you swallow.
Nice inexpensive rum, one I think would be at home in any rum collection.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 20 ratings

Step up from the cheaper rums .....much more prefer the 12 year old Appleton !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

It is a good rum, and in classic Appleton style - but not as good as the 12yo. Lacks some of the complexity, and structure. A bit raw.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

It gets the job done better than other inexpensive rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

When I lived in the caribbean I loved Appleton. I had graduated from navy rum to jamaican rum and I was 21. Nowadays I can’t stand it. 21 yr, 30 yr, Joy. Its all too dry with an odd taste. Obviously thd bottom barrel rum is worse. If I want dry I will go Agricole, or maybe an Ged Diplomatico. This is just not good

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by nogall23 from United States with 3 ratings

Good when mixed. A good base default as a mainstream rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Being one who prefers the full, smooth South American rums, the Diplomáticos, the Zacapas, The Santa Teresas, I am not enchanted by the rums of the English Islands. I expected more however of this one. Bit harsh to my taste and definitely not a sipper. Quite drinkable however with soda.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

Appleton is a great rum brand from Jamaica. It's a solid sipping rum that will be welcomed at most drinking events. Not a bad rum.