Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10(271 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
39
97
93
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

271 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Very nice with a little bit of coke and a lot of lime! Also enjoyable straight but it was a bit too harsh for me. All in all a good rum but I'd love to try the darker and older ones of this brand.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 23 ratings

Decent sipper. Light aroma, light flavor and no after taste. It says full bodied but I would disagree. Ok for a change up but would not be my go to

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 3 months ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 23 ratings

This could be an alright sipping rum if you were getting into rum. I normally would use it as a mixer.

On the nose there is oak, candied orange, ginger, apricot and brown sugar. The palate is caramel, oak and pepper. The finish is short: oak and almond, but not drying.

This is more pleasant than the Appleton Special Gold, but the palate is still thin and the finish very lacking. The nose is pleasant, and it is overall a little sweeter than the Special.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 252 ratings

Somewhere in the middle between signature and 12, I would choose each over this. Nothing wrong but nothing great. Guess there is something for everyone.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Five5x from Canada with 1 rating

I'm not a big drinker, but when I do drink, it's going to be rum. I try some thing new every time. I bought this on New Years Eve and I still have some left. Usually rum will last a few weeks at the most. I love rum because it's so smooth and has such a versatile taste, but this stuff has a horrendous aftertaste like I'm drinking $5 swill. No matter what I did with it, it had a very dominant shoe leather taste. I will never buy this again.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 8 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 96 ratings

Good rum for the money. The taste is simple, but good enough

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Allano from Canada with 22 ratings

Average at best as a sipper, not bad with cola, I would not over pay for this. Get it on sale.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

As joy Spencer said its a mixer and does what it's intended to its a bit spicy so be warned

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by louisp.noel@gmail.com from Canada with 11 ratings

Decent rum
Not the most exciting rum but it fill the need

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Don from Canada with 149 ratings

The spicey funky Jamaican taste is not for my liking. It tastes young and has some decent burn. Mixed in a rum and Coke makes a good drink.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

This rum is not widely available in the Netherlands and bought it online. For the price class it is in I had better rums although that can be personal taste. It’s not bad but also not I’m going to buy it again.