Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


257 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Mix with 1/2 a lime and some cane juice and you have a great daiquiri with just enough cask flavor to stand out and give some depth. Not too shabby.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Only recently started out on my rum discovery journey with my son in law. We both agree that this is probably the worst rum we have tasted so far. I'm no expert, but compared to Dead Mans Fingers, Rumbullion, Chairman's Reserve and Kraken it leaves a lot to be desired. Very harsh, burns on the way down and leaves a horrible taste. One to steer clear of!

Posted over 2 years ago by Sebastien from Belgium with 11 ratings

Good rum tasting. Alcohol a little too present but interesting subtle aromas.

Posted over 2 years ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

Great stock standard or benchmark Jamaican aged rum. Nothing great, but definitely not yellow swill like some others.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jd from Netherlands with 5 ratings

A Nice rum for Just whenever.
You know it’s a applelton taste when u zip. Isn’t verry special, Just take one with the movie

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 22 ratings

Brought back from Jamaica by my parents many years ago and has sat in my liquor cabinet ever since gathering dust. With my new found love of fine aged rums, I decided to give this a try neat. Nose has alcohol and just a bit of Bourbon barel. Palate has spice and not much else. Not a sipper.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

I tend to drink my drinks neat but this has a tad more ethanol burn to it than I’d like. Still a good rum but needs a mixer or some ice cubes

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 55 ratings

A perfectly serviceable Jamaican expression for mixing. No it won’t slap you upside your head with hogo, but it’s quite nice in a modest way.

Posted over 2 years ago by DavidK5791 from United States with 1 rating

As a newbie to Rum, and as someone who will probably buy the mid level priced Rums, this really isn’t bad. Would I buy it again, maybe, I’ll at least put it on the back burner. As for my recommendation...yes I would recommend this Rum for a reasonably priced, easy drinking Rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert G from Canada with 30 ratings

This is a standard rum that a bottle found it's way under my bar. Had it for a few years and not finished yet. It is more of a mixer than a sipper as it is too harsh for my tastes.

Posted over 2 years ago by RubZ from Canada with 11 ratings

Just add coke to it and drink it. But more then that I don’t think there’s much too say.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

This is my third try with Appleton Estate Rums. I finally came to the conclusion that this type of rum is not for me. Each had a funky taste that I found hard to drink. Moving on to other brands

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 5 ratings

I really love the flavor of Appleton Estate V/X when mixed with Coke/Pepsi. This is my go to for a strong, flavourful Rum and Coke.

Posted over 2 years ago by Stéphane from Canada with 2 ratings

At least on the rocks because a bit harsh for me.
Nice product.
Prefer the older ones from this Family.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Was expecting more from this one been spending a lot time just sitting in my bar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Appleton produces some higher rated rums, but this one left me wanting. The blend does lend to a unique flavor but misses the take.

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Russian Federation with 4 ratings

This was my first Appleton Estate rum, so I was going in expecting a whole bouquet of flavours. Unfortunately, save for some very pleasant softness, there really wasn't that much of an exotic flavour to it. Yes - it's a Jamaican-style rum, so some cask burn and spice are expected, but the journey was over too soon, and the finish wasn't very delicate either (it does gain in complexity after a couple of sips, and benefits from some breathing time). It's a pretty average rum that can be commended for no added sugar. But let's not forget, sometimes added sugar actually allows other flavours to come through (such as the case with Zacapa 23 Solera). I'm looking forward to trying other Appleton rums I keep hearing legends about.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is a pretty good drink. No added sugar and so it's got a bit of a burn and it's not super smooth but it's good rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 2 ratings

Love the thick sweetness compared to cheaper spiced rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Sampled the Appleton Estates VX while escaping the Hurricane Irma to Jamaica during last weekend. This is not a neat sipper. Alcohol smell, taste and burn are just nasty. Mix it with Coke and down it goes, but not as a neat sipper.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

Looks good on the bar at a party, but I have no problem catching a cab and leaving this rum behind. There are a lot more interesting ones to be had, including its mature, spicey older sister.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

Not quite sophisticated enough to be a "sipper". But still good.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Not the greatest Appletons but for the price you pay it will deliver. Can be drunk on its own and isn't too rough, at its best mixing with your favourite side tipple. Will give you an honest taste of Jamaica and go well with your jerk pork.

Although if you can afford to go higher up the Appletons rum tree, you will be rewarded.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Entry Level rum, not so funny, it's not enough aged, too flat, limited finish, a lot of glycenol, too harsh.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Ușor.. De vară :) Un rom simplu dar curat. Merge bine on the rocks și probabil perfect pentru mix-uri mai speciale..