Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10 (264 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
36
94
93
14
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


264 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

The color and aroma of Appleton V/X is as good as any rum I have but taste and after burn are not as good as its 12 year old brother or other high end rums. But when you consider that a bottle is only $16, this one is definitley worth having it in your rum cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Mit diesem Rum habe ich meine Unschuld verloren.
Habe in den "90er" Jahren diesen Rum nach Hause gebracht,
als es Hierzulande nur Coruba, Bacardi und Stroh-Rum im Handel gab.
Da habe ich bemerkt das Rum etwas leckeres sein kann.
Etwas deftig in der Nase, im Mund jedoch Aromen von Zuckerrohr, Karamell, Toffee.
Im Abgang alles schnell weg.

With this rum I lost my innocence.
In the "90s" I brought this rum home,
As there were only Coruba, Bacardi, and Stroh-Rum in the market.
Since I noticed, that rum something delicious can be.
Slightly strong in the nose, in the mouth however aromas of sugar cane, caramel, toffee.
In the finish, everything is quickly gone.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by david from Australia with 8 ratings

A nice one from Appleton that is a tad harsh and could do with a few more years inside the barrel but with a dash of lime to take off the edge it still goes down well

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Good rum for cocktails. The aging process gives it more body but no more.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

"tasting notes"...super market, it has colour and flavour...some notes, maybe flat or sharp, not to shabby for a super market rum, really nice when mixed with 2x apple juice...

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Mix with 1/2 a lime and some cane juice and you have a great daiquiri with just enough cask flavor to stand out and give some depth. Not too shabby.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

If you want a good example of the Jamaican style, this is a good way to go at about half the price (in most areas) of the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Five5x from Canada with 1 rating

I'm not a big drinker, but when I do drink, it's going to be rum. I try some thing new every time. I bought this on New Years Eve and I still have some left. Usually rum will last a few weeks at the most. I love rum because it's so smooth and has such a versatile taste, but this stuff has a horrendous aftertaste like I'm drinking $5 swill. No matter what I did with it, it had a very dominant shoe leather taste. I will never buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 72 ratings

Good rum for the money. The taste is simple, but good enough

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Allano from Canada with 21 ratings

Average at best as a sipper, not bad with cola, I would not over pay for this. Get it on sale.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

As joy Spencer said its a mixer and does what it's intended to its a bit spicy so be warned