Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


256 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Mit diesem Rum habe ich meine Unschuld verloren.
Habe in den "90er" Jahren diesen Rum nach Hause gebracht,
als es Hierzulande nur Coruba, Bacardi und Stroh-Rum im Handel gab.
Da habe ich bemerkt das Rum etwas leckeres sein kann.
Etwas deftig in der Nase, im Mund jedoch Aromen von Zuckerrohr, Karamell, Toffee.
Im Abgang alles schnell weg.

With this rum I lost my innocence.
In the "90s" I brought this rum home,
As there were only Coruba, Bacardi, and Stroh-Rum in the market.
Since I noticed, that rum something delicious can be.
Slightly strong in the nose, in the mouth however aromas of sugar cane, caramel, toffee.
In the finish, everything is quickly gone.

Posted 10 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

When I lived in the caribbean I loved Appleton. I had graduated from navy rum to jamaican rum and I was 21. Nowadays I can’t stand it. 21 yr, 30 yr, Joy. Its all too dry with an odd taste. Obviously thd bottom barrel rum is worse. If I want dry I will go Agricole, or maybe an Ged Diplomatico. This is just not good

Posted 10 months ago by nogall23 from United States with 3 ratings

Good when mixed. A good base default as a mainstream rum.

Posted 11 months ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Being one who prefers the full, smooth South American rums, the Diplomáticos, the Zacapas, The Santa Teresas, I am not enchanted by the rums of the English Islands. I expected more however of this one. Bit harsh to my taste and definitely not a sipper. Quite drinkable however with soda.

Posted 11 months ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

Appleton is a great rum brand from Jamaica. It's a solid sipping rum that will be welcomed at most drinking events. Not a bad rum.

Posted 11 months ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Very dry in my opinion, but that is good. Yet it is lacking some depth to it, I would hoped for some more complex taste.

Final verdict:
I think I will pass on that in the future

Posted 12 months ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Ničím výnimočný, trochu viac alkoholový, jedine do miešaných nápojov.

Posted 12 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A good mixing rum that I especially like with coke and a slice of lime.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

If I’m in a pinch, I will drink this as a mixed drink, but not really do anything else with it. The flavor is aggressive, sweet, and will come through your mixer. A little goes a long way. The nose is decent and brings some good Jamaican notes. It’s price point is good but don’t expect a huge bang for your buck.

Posted about 1 year ago by Lisa from Sweden with 7 ratings

Everyone should have this one at home. Nice, easy and can go both in drinks or just as simple as it is

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

It's the first bottle I always look for when I walk to the bar and when I'm looking down the isle of the local retailer. It's got strong vanilla flavour, but stays true to a more natural rum taste without getting too polluted towards the "spiced" variety. Mixes well with a splash of cola, but just as well with a light ginger orange, or apple.

Posted over 1 year ago by Gianlubona from Italy with 3 ratings

Good rum, but nothing of unbelievable. Good prive, aniway

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This was my rum that I used to impress the ladies with in my younger years, mainly due to it's fancy bottle at a budget price. It was a pretty good rum that I drank for many years. It is no longer available on store shelves and has apparently been replaced by their Signature Blend. The other readily available rum from Appleton is their 12 Year Rare Blend. I happen to like their slightly cheaper Reserve Blend better than their 12 Year Rare Blend. Their Signature Blend now has an average age of only 4 years, while this V/X is a blend of rums aged 5-10 years. Therefore, the Signature Blend is not a true replacement for this V/X. Appleton likes to confuse us consumers.

Posted over 1 year ago by Henk from Denmark with 3 ratings

I liked this one, keeping in mind this is my first rating. Smelled sweet and warm of molasses. Tasted nice and enjoyed it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Omari Pryor from United States with 5 ratings

This is my go to rum for making drinks. Though it is at the bottom level of the Appleton line, it gives great flavor to anything and everything.

Posted over 1 year ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

The taste is like a fruit explosion -- too fruity for my liking.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

Plutôt clair, de belles aromes, un peu alcool pas trop sucré. Une finale qui se respecte bref très bon rpq

Posted over 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Surprenant pour le prix. Nez assez parfumé. Alcool assez présent. Petit côté mentholé avec des épices.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jack from Canada with 27 ratings

I heard good things but I was not impressed, spend your money on the 12 year or even better splurge a little and get the 21. That way you won't be disappointed.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Rhum de base pour les cocktails, se trouve partout. C'est le rhum passe-partout!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Beneveedez from United States with 8 ratings

If you see this in a store, it's better than most of whats below on the shelves. It's a nice balanced smooth rum with a sweet caramel flavor, also has that tangy Jamaica taste. For the price it's well worth it.

Posted about 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

$30CAD at the LCBO. You can do a lot worse for $30 (ie: Bacardi, Captain Morgan). Would only use it as a mixer, but frankly would spend a few dollars more for an El Dorado 8.

Posted about 2 years ago by Joshua from United States with 29 ratings

It’s not a dipper but is your run of the mill mixing rums. Good price and works well for mixing. Sometimes it’s cheaper than other mixing rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Darrell from United States with 26 ratings

This is a good rum. It caught me off guard. Not for sipping but a great mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Only recently started out on my rum discovery journey with my son in law. We both agree that this is probably the worst rum we have tasted so far. I'm no expert, but compared to Dead Mans Fingers, Rumbullion, Chairman's Reserve and Kraken it leaves a lot to be desired. Very harsh, burns on the way down and leaves a horrible taste. One to steer clear of!