Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


257 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Mix with 1/2 a lime and some cane juice and you have a great daiquiri with just enough cask flavor to stand out and give some depth. Not too shabby.

Posted over 5 years ago by Markku from Finland with 12 ratings

Full of exotic fruits, not bad. I was surprised how good this is. of course this is not your fireplace, slowly sipping stuff.

Posted over 5 years ago by Matej Kubuš from Slovakia with 11 ratings

Overall looks like whisky cousin but after couple of glasses I used to drink it alone and enjoying it for itself specific taste and aroma.

Posted over 5 years ago by Barry from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ooooooooooooooooooooooooooook

Posted over 5 years ago by bigandy from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Title says it all. Nothing better for a rum and coke. A really good squeeze of lime makes it even better.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dan from Canada with 9 ratings

Have liked this rum since I first tried it. I usually have a bottle on hand when guests are over

Posted over 5 years ago by Joshua Cook from Canada with 13 ratings

It's ok, it sort of tastes like straight Bacardi white, but somewhat better, it's what they serve you at the bar, if you want Captain Morgan, you pay the extra.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

This rum is really not for me but that being said, it is fairly smooth for the price range.

Posted over 5 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

This has a strong after taste, but I found it easily mellowed in juices. I didn't care for it mixed w/ Cola or straight up.

Posted over 5 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

ein schöner karibischer Rum der auch auf Eis oder pur zu genießen ist. Alkoholisch. Aber vollmundig.

Posted over 5 years ago by Romain from France with 3 ratings

Its a pleasent rum to drink, and mix with. Not a cubain but a very nice rum for mojito, very well balanced and with nice vanilla flavors

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

This is a good upgrade from Appleton's Special Gold, being smoother and more flavorful. Better as a mixer but I'll sip in a pinch.
Update: Thank you to those who recommended this with apple juice. AJ smooths it out... or I should say this rum subdues AJ's overly sweet flavor. Use an organic 100% juice mixed 1:1.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Yep it's ok nothing to write home about you could service without it

Posted over 5 years ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

I found this to be light in color and flavor. Smooth in the mouth with a harsh finish and spicy/wood flavor, some citrus notes and not too sweet. Reminded me of a of a weak whisky? I could have it over ice, or mixed. Not bad for the price.

Posted over 5 years ago by Samuel from United States with 3 ratings

Not bad, but not great. I enjoy this rum, but won't go out of my way for it.

Posted almost 6 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

I really enjoyed the taste of this rum with splash of coke. .It has a nice spicy peppery after taste good stuff.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Not so bad, but a bit too harsh compared to other V/X rums, and it tastes too much of a cheap brandy instead of having a smooth distinctive flavour.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Larry Meek from United States with 7 ratings

Really good with coke but just fine with a big block of ice too.

Posted almost 6 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

Very nice rum my local keno had this its a good go to rum instead of bacardi with coke

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

Lighter-bodied than the Appleton 12 Year, and a little sweet to me. Definitely a valuable building block for serious mixing.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

I purchased this bottle because it was specifically called out in a cocktail I was making, it worked will in the drink. I hadn't tasted the V/X out of the bottle until one of my monthly tastings when a guest asked to try it. I sipped a little, put the cap back on and decided to keep the bottle on my mixing shelf.

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

rum not a bad introduction to the Jamaican style
http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tim from United States with 11 ratings

Not overwhelming in any one characteristic. A bit astringent, but not unbearable. Good mixer, relatively smooth.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 71 ratings

Nothing special, good with coke. Bit harsh.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is good for those who are looking to move up from the standard bar selections, great mixer, very good with a squeeze of lime and a pinch of sugar, and it is tolerable as a sipper.