Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Daniel’s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10 (82 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
11
28
24
9
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Appleton Estate Special Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is my pick of the cheap bottom-shelf rums available in my local supermarkets. The smell is more promising than the taste, although it will add a more complex flavour to your cocktails than some other budget rums. Not the smoothest finish, as you'd expect at this price (£12ish).
I used to buy this in my student days, when I couldn't afford anything better, but now pay the extra for Mount Gay Eclipse as my go-to mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

This is what someone buys you when you say you like rum and the just grap anything on the shelf

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not brilliant but not bad either for mixed drinks

Lacks the Ooomph of the V/X

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Bruce from United States with 5 ratings

For mixin' not sippin'. Does a darn good job at that. Very light body with some sweet rummy tastes. For the price, it gives you all you could expect.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is a cheap okay rum. Take this to a party, hand it in and enjoy mixed with what ever. Not a sipper but the price you pay for this what do you expect

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

This bottle is simply to load up drinks to get the evening going. Keep this at any bar near a body of water and enjoy

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Use this for your run of the mill cocktails and punch bowls. Won't make them excellent but does it's job.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Robbo from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As a mixer it's ok but no more than that, would I buy to keep on the shelf........ No probably not as there are better mixers out there!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 75 ratings

Very spirit taste kind of a rum. Definitely a mixer.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 206 ratings

Maybe as a well brand but nothing great going on here, so save it for mixers, don’t torture for me to drink neat.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jason from United States with 50 ratings

Was enjoying this as a mixer in a delish tiki drink. Then the end of the night came and I decided to try this on its own. Felt the burn for sure. Will leave it for the mixer world at best.