Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Daniel’s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


75 Appleton Estate Special Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es de los peores rones, no lo recomiendo ni para coctelería

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

This is what someone buys you when you say you like rum and the just grap anything on the shelf

Posted over 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not brilliant but not bad either for mixed drinks

Lacks the Ooomph of the V/X

Posted over 5 years ago by Bruce from United States with 5 ratings

For mixin' not sippin'. Does a darn good job at that. Very light body with some sweet rummy tastes. For the price, it gives you all you could expect.

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is a cheap okay rum. Take this to a party, hand it in and enjoy mixed with what ever. Not a sipper but the price you pay for this what do you expect

Posted over 5 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

This bottle is simply to load up drinks to get the evening going. Keep this at any bar near a body of water and enjoy

Posted about 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Use this for your run of the mill cocktails and punch bowls. Won't make them excellent but does it's job.

Posted over 5 years ago by Robbo from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As a mixer it's ok but no more than that, would I buy to keep on the shelf........ No probably not as there are better mixers out there!

Posted almost 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 69 ratings

Very spirit taste kind of a rum. Definitely a mixer.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

There's not really anything else to do with this other than mix it.

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

De los rones basicos que alguna vez cualquier ronero tomo en un cuba libre.

Posted 7 months ago by Lestrem from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is not a 'sipper' but at £16 a bottle is a lovely rum and coke. You still get a rum' kick'and flavour as long as you don't try to drown it in your coke. Recommended as a go to cheap rum to take with coke, plenty of ice and a slice of lime as a double in a small glass. Cheers.

Posted 8 months ago by Rondo12 from Denmark with 5 ratings

Moving from bourbon to rum was made easier withbthis appletons, you get lots of the vanilla and citrus notes from the bourbon influence right away. Then a big hit of fruits and delicate spices. Its not a game changer but it has its place and its always enjoyable without being exceptional.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Perfect for Rum cocktails, but not ideal as a sipper over ice. Its what I'd choose if I wanted a rum and coke.

Posted over 1 year ago by René from Netherlands with 31 ratings

A little bit sharp, but tasty rum, to drink on the rocks or mixed.

Posted over 1 year ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is my pick of the cheap bottom-shelf rums available in my local supermarkets. The smell is more promising than the taste, although it will add a more complex flavour to your cocktails than some other budget rums. Not the smoothest finish, as you'd expect at this price (£12ish).
I used to buy this in my student days, when I couldn't afford anything better, but now pay the extra for Mount Gay Eclipse as my go-to mixing rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Quaffable when mixed or blended. A go to for a daquiri or cocktail. Not sure I would sip it. Perhaps over ice with soda.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had one drink of Appleton Estate Special Gold while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Very bland bottle and label design. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks though.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This stuff has fueled many a funky reggae party! What I drank for many years at outdoor reggae yards in the west end. Ya Mon!

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin Gisborne from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I expected a bit more from this tbh. Not overly enjoyable at all

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Another supermarket average rum. Nice enough mixed but not ideal neat.

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles-antoine from France with 11 ratings

Découvert au Mexique, il est un peu agressif et fort mais assez fruité smooth banana. Vraiment a son meilleur dans des cocktails type mojito.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron que se encuentra en muchas partes, por lo mismo nunca falta en un bar de algún club.
Un sabor que no convence pero se comporta bien para su juventud.

Posted over 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Not the best from Appleton, but neither is it the worst. It has a real rum aroma that promises slightly more than it delivered.
Smooth enough to drink neat, but made a great rum and coke.
For the price it’s fine however you take it, neat or mixed.
Graham

Posted over 2 years ago by Dante De Rubin from Mexico with 42 ratings

Its a good rum, but I prefer other rums. Its too sweet!