Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Daniel’s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10 (82 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
11
28
24
9
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Appleton Estate Special Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dante De Rubin from Mexico with 42 ratings

Its a good rum, but I prefer other rums. Its too sweet!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by René from Netherlands with 32 ratings

A little bit sharp, but tasty rum, to drink on the rocks or mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is my pick of the cheap bottom-shelf rums available in my local supermarkets. The smell is more promising than the taste, although it will add a more complex flavour to your cocktails than some other budget rums. Not the smoothest finish, as you'd expect at this price (£12ish).
I used to buy this in my student days, when I couldn't afford anything better, but now pay the extra for Mount Gay Eclipse as my go-to mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Quaffable when mixed or blended. A go to for a daquiri or cocktail. Not sure I would sip it. Perhaps over ice with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

I had one drink of Appleton Estate Special Gold while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Very bland bottle and label design. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks though.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This stuff has fueled many a funky reggae party! What I drank for many years at outdoor reggae yards in the west end. Ya Mon!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Gisborne from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I expected a bit more from this tbh. Not overly enjoyable at all

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Another supermarket average rum. Nice enough mixed but not ideal neat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Charles-antoine from France with 11 ratings

Découvert au Mexique, il est un peu agressif et fort mais assez fruité smooth banana. Vraiment a son meilleur dans des cocktails type mojito.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron que se encuentra en muchas partes, por lo mismo nunca falta en un bar de algún club.
Un sabor que no convence pero se comporta bien para su juventud.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Not the best from Appleton, but neither is it the worst. It has a real rum aroma that promises slightly more than it delivered.
Smooth enough to drink neat, but made a great rum and coke.
For the price it’s fine however you take it, neat or mixed.
Graham