Posting your rating...
Havana Club Selección de Maestros rum

Rate Havana Club Selección de Maestros

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Havana Club Selección de Maestros ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

J adore suffisamment complexe et bien balancer plusieurs saveurs vient au nez et au papille. Acheté à cuba pour moins cher qu au Canada. Il est fort en alcool,45%, un petit gout de cannelle, tabac, de poivre et épice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pedro from Germany with 4 ratings

Selección de Maestros surely is no rhum for everyday. But which Cuban Rhum is it? Due to limitations of innovation and technical improvement over past decades the rhum is characterized by the typical dry taste of Cuban rhums.

This edition of Havanna Club is strong in taste, starts with a punch at first but gets followed by a long-lasting intensive taste of Wood, citrus and leather. I love this rhum and when I had enjoyed a special dinner it's the right choice to finish the evening with a cigar!

During the week I prefer others, easier rhums ...

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 38 ratings

I got this one as b-day present from my colleagues. I really enjoy that bottle. Great full flavor, very smooth, just at right level of sweetness. So easy to sip that I finished bottle sooner than I would like :)

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Kubánsky rum v o.k. fľaši s modrou etiketou...=) to sa len tak nevidí. Má peknú jantárovú až mahagónovú farbi. Po naliatí typická kubánska vôňa, dominuje kakao, tabak, snáď orechy. Zacítil som aj hrozienka, rum má skôr ťažšiu, zemitejšu arómu. Chuť celkom kopíruje aromatické vnemy, je veľmi dobre vyvážený, komplexný, neskôr je zemitý, v dlhšom závere je cítiť aj drevo. Rum je stáčaný do fliaš priamo zo sudov, preto nesie aj označenie "barrel proof". Povedal by som, že tento suchší rum je skôr pre skúsenejšieho rumového degustátora...slušná práca maestrov ronerov...je to dobrý rum, ale nie pre každého.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Super go rom. Klart den beste Havana club jeg har prøvet

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alexander from Bulgaria with 5 ratings

Truly rich in taste and flavours...I always start thirsty and within few weeks a slow down as the bottle is getting more and more empty. This is a perfect rum for gift(it comes in a stylish packaging), dinners, etc.

Posted about 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

This rum is unusual to me. Although it has a lightly strong alcohol taste (45%) the flavour is very well balanced, don't know if smooth is the right word here as alcohol presence still hits hards. It tastes a bit fresh with lot of wood (typically Havana Club I would say), a bit of leather and much more probably I can't describe, not sweet at all, very dry. The first glass surprises as it is really interesting, but it is difficult to drink a second one immediately after it, you get enough of it very soon too. Does not make a good mixer and for the price I would not recommend that. I have divided feelings about this rum: I like it and don't at the same time.

Posted about 2 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

No bad, but you can find much better rums in this price range

Posted almost 4 years ago by Slgrs from Netherlands with 1 rating

Only just getting into rum and most certainly not an expert in any ways but I would say its a very good effort. I have had my share of rums over the years and I found Selection de maestro to be very smooth. I tend to find common rums to be enjoyable when mixed but on its own they can be a bit too sharp for me. Nothing special and relatively high in price but I would recommend it. Bottle looks nice, accompanying canister doesn't add value for me at all.

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Was given to me as a gift from a very popular rum aficionado. My only previous experience with Cuban rum was Havana Club Anejo Especial which I found had a strong tobacco taste. This one is quite different. Somewhat strong smell, but with a no excuses flair. Still quite a bite, but much smoother than the Anejo. Not too much sweetness, and still a taste of tobacco but much lighter. It has a bit of a burn, but not too strong. Overall a nice addition to the collection.

Posted over 3 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Un detalle que me trajo un buen amigo. Compré unas piedras para enfriar el trago con el fin de poder degustarlo en su plenitud. Buen cuerpo, buen retro gusto. Otro que vale la pena

Posted about 4 years ago by Rum Runner from Canada with 8 ratings

One of the tastiest rums I've had. Very smooth and wonderful aftertaste. Easy to drink straight up.

Posted over 4 years ago by jake from New Zealand with 23 ratings

With some of the cheaper Havana clubs being some of my favs I expected way more at 3 times the price. $150 here.
The canister is pretty crappy for a bottle in this price range. Very cheaply made.
The bottle looks ok, but the cork on mine is very loose.
Smell, smells like diluted isopropyl alcohol & looks the same when swirled in the glass with an oily residue left clinging to the sides. Not a bad thing. Just means a longer aftertaste.
Taste. Was a shock to me at 1st. BITTER! yuck. Even after adding copious amounts of coke the bitterness stood out like dogs balls. Still I have to add it was pretty smooth & drinks very easy. Have given it a couple of weeks to oxidise & the results are pretty much similar to when 1st opened except to a lesser degree now. + I've gotten used to the bitterness.
Won't buy again, but would, if it was 3 times cheaper, just to have something different occasionally. But at the current price I'd rather grab 3 bottles of the reservea or 7 yr old. Or even better yet, try something totally new to me.

Update: Got used to the bitterness now & started to enjoy it, so moved it up 1 place

Posted over 5 years ago by kempola from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

It has sweet cherry undertones, deep golden almost brown colours and will stay with you till the next time you can find it. Rare as Bigfoot this one, I've only found it in one bar and the proprietor used to travel to Cuba for a month every year so knows his rum. Expensive but worth it.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Havana Club Selección de Maestros Rum skuffede mig virkelig meget, jeg er lige ved at sige - skrive, at den burde drikkes med cola, men efter at have gensmagt den, har den vundet meget - eller min smag ændret sig.

Posted 5 months ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

Absolutely love this rum if you are going to Cuba this is a must have to add to your collection.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Cuban rum has a Spanish style to it meaning shorter fermentation period and column still use creating a lighter rum as opposed to say, British rum with its longer fermentation process and pot still distilling technique creating a heavier more robust rum.
A classic Cuban rum that should be included in all rum connoisseurs-collection or house staple. A better representation than its younger sibling, the 7 year old, but without the steep price associated with its older 15 year old, this NAS rum is very smooth and with a drop of water tends to bring out flavors and aromas on a different level than by drinking it straight up.
Fruit, citrus, wood, tobacco combined with some vanilla and treacle sweetness. Makes for a fine sipper straight up or with a splash of water. Use the Reserva, 3 or 7 year old to make your Cuba Libre’s or other mixed drinks...

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

Had this one on my wishlist for a long time. And this rum does not let you down. A beautifull havana fruity palette of aged vanilla sweetness. Got to admit that i binged most part of this smooth goodness on great party with dear friends. I saved a couple of glasses for a more intimate tasting with a good cigar. Hail to the havana rum makers this was the best havana i drank to date!

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

I was waiting to drink that rum many months....always I choose something different. But that's on my list. Last days I tried it....what a disappointment.... :/ ok maybe it's good balanced... but taste, aroma, colour - everything is maximum avarage. Nothing to recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Did't know the price of this when i tasted it. At the tasting I thought it was a cheap one.

Posted about 3 years ago by Elgrande from Cuba with 56 ratings

Round spicy smooth and fruity taste with a pleasant smoky oak aftertaste.
Recommended!

Posted over 3 years ago by Captain Cinnamon from Netherlands with 6 ratings

The rum that got me interested in rums. Although to be fair, it could have been the barrel proof. It's been some years. Tasted it at a friend of a friend's house. It surprised me with how tasteful and complex rum could be.

Recently, I received a bottle from my friends after finishing graduate school. Have yet to open it, but will update this review when I do. Curious to find if it can live up to the fairy tail taste my memory has created.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Un gust placut cu un aftertaste foarte interesant. Putin cam spirtos dar se merita investitia. Good choice

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Po zkusenostech s Havana Club 3 leta - vhodna spise pouze do kokteilu, havana Especial, ktera je trochu sladsi a uspokoji na bezne posrkavani vecer u televize a nabizi nejlepsi pomer cena vykon, pres 7-mi leta, ze ktere jsem byl zklamany, protoze za ty penize existuje milion lepsich rumu je toto zatim nejlepsi havana, kterou jsem pil. Zachovava si svuj kubansky charakter, je ostrejsi, ale nadherne vonava, minimalne sladka ale s vuni po medu, s vyraznou chuti po kuzi, tabaku a dubovem dreve a orechach. doporicuji

Posted about 4 years ago by Barry de Mooij from Netherlands with 11 ratings

When I smell this rum, it's like the smell of Cuba. Where I was on holliday last year