Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve rum

Appleton Estate Reserve

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate Reserve Rum is a blend of 20 different rums of varying ages, the youngest of which is aged eight years in used Jack Daniels whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced in the Nassau Valley of Jamaica on the Appleton Estate from locally sourced sugar cane and limestone-filtered water.

6.4/10
113 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
13
39
34
16
4
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

113 Appleton Estate Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by darren from Canada with 8 ratings

Appleton for me under excites and find it hard to distinguish a premium from the regular blends and not sure if they have an ultra available for the masses

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

An absolute bargain and better sipped than mixed.

Beautiful rum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike Anthony from Canada with 8 ratings

In my opinion, this is a big step up from the basic. Has a nice flavour and no harsh finish. I like the flavour imparted from the barrels.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

Great for mixing or on the rocks with limes. Appleton made it's reputation with this rum. True Jamaican.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 157 ratings

Lidt skarp og med kort eftersmag.
Den er bedst til drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Its okay, it is not the 12 it has the signature appleton taste but is common with their rums.

This is a good entry mixer and you will not be disappointed. Compare it with montgay eclipse and it will be good to discuss the difference with friends as they are good mixers with great distinctive taste.

screw top cap works for this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by DuPPyQ from Canada with 2 ratings

I went on a limb and tested out the reserve for the first time last night. I am not overly impressed, but I have never been a huge fan Appleton rums to begin with. But all in all, the rum is not bad. I tried it solo and then tried it with a but of ginger beer/ale with a slice of lime (how I like to drink my rum). It has that distinct Appleton nose of what I feel stands out is a molasses syrupy and fruity smell to it. The taste is smooth with a sweet oaky/wood flavour to it but feels a bit watered down and lacks depth within the flavour. I'm glad I tried but Appleton continues to just not do it for me...

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

This is the next best thing.
Shares a lot of good qualities with the 12 but a clear step down.

Nose: Nice and funky grass and fruit.
Feel: A bit too much up front bite but it makes up for it with the long tail of flavours you get with an Appleton.
Taste: A little wood, but mainly caramel and that grassy funk from before.
Presentation: You can't complain about much at this end of the market.
Price: 31 Canadian. Just spend the extra few dollars and get the 12.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Oz from United States with 2 ratings

This is by base for good rum. Great price point and Appleton makes a great product. I try to find the reserve when I can. I'd like to fine more Appletons to try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Yep no flash no spark it look smells and tastes like just a rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

Not the best I have but not a terrible. Bit oaky and quite hot on the finish.