Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Reserva rum

Havana Club Anejo Reserva

Cuba | Gold

Havana Club Añejo Reserva Rum is aged five to six years. This rum was not originally intended for public consumption but reserved for Don Navarro, the head master rum-maker for Havana Club.

This rum is one of eight produced by Havana Club in Santa Cruz del Norte, Cuba.

6.3/10
203 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
35
66
61
20
9

Rate Havana Club Anejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

203 Havana Club Anejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Nope, this need serious improvement.
But still hopefull.
Too bitter and less taste for my kind.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 88 ratings

Nose: Caramel, Banana, Oak, Leather, Cigar Tobacco, Toffee fudge, Flan, Toasted Coconut

Palate: Oak, Toffee fudge, caramelized fruit, custard, light maple syrup,

Finish: Toffee, light Banana notes, Oak, long afterwards Coca Cola

Given that it is my first “longer aged” unfiltered rum from Cuba, I was very excited and curious as to what it’s like and how it compares to the great many Cuban exiles rums I have had (Bacardi Havana Club, Matusalem, Selvarey, Grander, Panama Pacific, etc.). So let’s dive straight into this forbidden fruit from Hispaniola. Granted this is middle of the road offering from Havana Club roughly approximate to Havana Club 7 Years but with no added sugar. Supposedly, this was originally a private recipe and reserve for Don Navarro, a Master Ronero at Havana Club for his own private use. It is regarded by Whiskey Exchange as the connoisseur’s pick among the Havana Club line along with Seleccion de Maestros. It is a column still rum blend aged 5-6 years in American ex-whiskey barrels. Still at $14 USD a bottle it is among the most affordable in the Havana Club line. So how is it actually?

The nose is way deeper and more complex than I would ever have anticipated from a 5-6 year aged column still rum blend at 40%. Nosing it from the Glencairn I get Caramel and Banana upfront followed by Oak, Leather, Cigar Tobacco, and Toffee Fudge. But it doesn’t end there. Coming back to the glass after a break I get all of the above plus new notes of Flan followed Toasted Coconut. A column still rum with 8 distinct notes on the nose at only 40% is damn impressive in my experience. That is far, far more than I expected from a mid-tier Spanish column still rum.

Taking a sip, this rum brings a very round and decadent sweetness despite the fact that it is an NAS rum. On the palate I get a heavy dose of Oak up front followed by Toffee Fudge and an interesting and powerful note than can be best described as caramelized fruit - like if you took a handful of random berries and cooked them in a pan with sugar. It’s a unique note to me and quite delightful. Beyond that I get faint notes of custard and the light maple syrup note that I have experienced on many Don Pancho rums (particularly in the Grander line).

The finish is a bit of a let down, slightly, when compared to the nose and the palate. It’s not bad by any stretch, it is just short and light with Toffee, Banana, and Oak. After setting the glass down a long time my mouth has a dry Coca Cola flavor left over.

All together, this is pretty tasty. I am definitely going to savor this bottle. Would I buy a backup bottle of this if it were readily available to me sin embargo? Probably. Actually considering it’s price point at $14, definitely.

So now to the big question that I, and I imagine a lot of my fellow Americans probably want to know: how does it compare to and stack up against many of the Cuban exile rums, and which Cuban exile rum comes closest? Well for starters this is pretty damn tasty and in some respects fairly unique in its own right. Many of the notes I encountered here can be found in other Cuban exile rums: caramel, tobacco, leather, custard, etc….but not in this specific combination. Separately, the banana and caramelized fruit notes were quite unexpected. I think the closest any of the Cuban exile rums come to this is Don Pancho’s Grander series. Specifically, the Grander Single Barrel 8 Year is pretty damn close to this in profile, and actually a bit better than this. Actually, this rum would probably come closest to some mix of Grander 12 Year and Grander Single Barrel 8 year.

While I am not going to say that this is a banger and a must have, if you have a chance to pick this up, you can certainly do worse. This is pretty tasty and surprisingly complex for a Spanish column still rum at 40% ABV aged 5-6 years. In other words it is fairly impressive for its cost and specs. For $14 I would consider this a real steal if it were readily available to me.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hector from United States with 57 ratings

Picked this up a few years back in Grand Cayman. Not a great sipper, a bit harch with lots of burn, but makes a mean rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by lekara10 from Greece with 10 ratings

Two steps behind the 7.Not smooth ,enough dry and good for coctails.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Mournroosirahc from Finland with 9 ratings

Decent rum, but same manufacturer offers bit older bottling in bit steeper price. I personally prefer the 7 year old bottling, but this one is quite decent too. I do not drink coctails often, but this might be a great mixer with bit greater price. Could pass as a sipper, but there are so much more suitable sippers in the market. It is not terrible and quite far from it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Scadro from Netherlands with 7 ratings

I drink this rum when i am low on money. Nice for mixing, but also holds it's own when drinking pure

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by XsiOn from Slovenia with 12 ratings

This rum is not really strong on nose. Smell is gentle and not very alcoholic. The taste is quite mild with week body. Rum which is probably not meant to sip. 😊

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Richull (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Might be good for mixing but that’s not our thing. Much prefer a good sipper, which this is not. Not bad, just prefer something more complex. Mix away!

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 12 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

Not much difference than regular Anjelica, I always go for the 7 that I can sip on ice. This is ok for Cube Libra’s, or mixed drinks. No place in my bar.

Small img 20210101 104439

Posted 1 year ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 93 ratings

In arome of thiscrum you can find nuts, tobaco, oak barrel. In taste then sweet spicy like cinamon also.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by ezioaudit from Greece with 26 ratings

You can buy the 7year in almost the same price.I would not suggest it