Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Reserva rum

Havana Club Añejo Reserva Rum is aged five to six years. This rum was not originally intended for public consumption but reserved for Don Navarro, the head master rum-maker for Havana Club.

This rum is one of eight produced by Havana Club in Santa Cruz del Norte, Cuba.

Rate Havana Club Anejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


184 Havana Club Anejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a light golden/amber colour with a bit of a rubbing alcohol smell (in the bottle).
It tastes sweet and floral/fruity, but way too harsh for me to sip straight.
It makes a really good Cuba Libre (R&C) - It's light yet has enough flavour to give it some taste.

Posted 10 months ago by Phil from United States with 5 ratings

Very good rum, too bad we can’t buy it in the USA, but can bring it back from other countries now thankfully. Just a good sipping rum, but certainly not worth all the hype!

Posted 10 months ago by Oldfart2112 from Canada with 2 ratings

This used to be my standard "utilitarian" rum. There was always a bottle on hand in my house. Then, about a year ago, it disappeared from my local stores for about 4 months. When it finally returned I was very excited to see my old faithful friend back in the cabinet. Sadly, something had gone horribly wrong in those short months and, for the first time ever, I returned a bottle of rum. Maybe someday I'll try again.

Posted 10 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Always with cola or in a cocktail. Nose was more alcohol. Too bitter. Missing much to be a good rum

Posted 11 months ago by OldBill from United States with 2 ratings

The bottle I was served at the Tropicana Cabernet was the best I've ever had in the price range. The bottle I bought at a store my tour guide promised me was a government store (which she later admitted paid her for bringing in tourists) was the worst I had ever paid that much for.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This entry is not really for drinking neat, but to add to cocktails and rum drinks. The smooth flavor is starting to get there, but the flavors are just floating around and the complexity is somewhat lacking causing the rum to not have a voice or a niche.
Heat from the oak and the alcohol, combined with the fact that this rum doesn’t really have a distinction or character that truly describes it.
Good to have in your bar as it is cheap. If you can find it and buy it, what the heck...get it, especially if your in the States. We can’t get Cuban Rums here only if we get it in the Caribbean, other countries, Cuba, on cruise ships, planes, or have friend buy you bottles when the go someplace that sells Cuban rums or Cigars.

Posted about 1 year ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

In giro c’é di meglio ma anche di molto molto peggio

Posted about 1 year ago by bascaves from Belgium with 9 ratings

Good for your simple and better cocktails. Not so suitable for a single drink.

Posted about 1 year ago by 00lx3 from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Not sweet. Full flavor. My favourite Havana Club .

Posted about 1 year ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

I expected more from this rum in this awkward bottle. But the content turned out to be equal to the form. Dull taste and bitter aftertaste ruined the whole impression. If you want a Havana rum club, better buy Especial or 3 year old.

P.S. The description says that this rum was not originally intended for the public, but reserved for Don Navarro. Apparently Mr. Navarro tried this rum and agreed with me about his taste. Rum poured into hastily made beer bottles and thrown into the market.

Posted over 1 year ago by Havanafan from Gibraltar with 17 ratings

I last had a bottle in 2012, while on vacation in Zakhyntos - Greece. Unfortunately, I can't find it anymore, everyone just sells the 3, 5 and 7s.

I was surprised by the blend of flavors, and a slight touch of sugar. It's smooth and if you add some coke and lime, or some red orange juice, you won't get enough of it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Like a Martiniquan friend told me: “you don’t need to add syrup or juice/coke to a good rum”. This is how this rum is, needs coke and a lot of lime to support it. It can be upgraded to a 7-8 star level rum in a mojito if you add home-grown raspberries and a tiny bit of apple juice and sparkled water.

Posted over 1 year ago by Timtrash from Hong Kong with 4 ratings

Nice sipping, good mixed with cold or a little warm water.

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Tomarlo puro imposible...pero probablemente la mejor opción para un sabroso Cuba Libre.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Only for mixing & tastes medium-bad. Dont try it neat.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Bon à boire avec du coke sinon siroter avec de la glace.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Bu souvent avec du coke, rhum pour les débutants ou qui n'ont pas de standard élevé!

Posted about 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un ron que resulta agradable. Tampoco se puede pedir mucho por lo que se paga por él. Queda bien en los cuba libre y otros cócteles. Eso sí, ni hablar para tomarlo en las rocas.

Posted about 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

I like all HC rums, so I naturally tried this one as well. It's a small step up from the Anejo Especial that comes/came with a higher price. I like mixing with this one. Maybe even on the rocks - but not as my first drink.

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

Not too bad everyday rum. Clearly a mixer rum. Base one, when the party is at his final and all other better rums bottles are empty.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mistertoots from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Difficult to rate this...I enjoyed it, but the more drink of this, the less I taste the unique flavour.

Posted about 2 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is full of flavor and one of my favorites. The aroma is what draws you in, but it’s the woody flavor when mixed with a cola that keeps me coming back.

Posted about 2 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Good Price good taste. Perfect for for mixing and straight. This one and the 3 years old are the Beast for mixing R&Coke. Thanks Cuba !

Posted about 2 years ago by aztropic from United States with 16 ratings

I find very little, if any, difference between this and the 7 year version. A fantastic mixer and even holds up well on its own.Definitely one of my "go to" standbys as it is also a good value and consistent from batch to batch. The brand is very well marketed and is available for purchase almost everywhere except USA. (although it is now perfectly legal to bring it back from wherever you can find it)

Posted about 2 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Ближе к 6 балам, но принципиально не поставлю.
Ром очень даже нормальный для типичных компанейских посиделок, без изысков.
Пьётся легко, можно пить чистым. Но главное что бы был прохладным.
Как только ром будет комнатной температуры пить становится трудней )

5+