Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Whoozl from Switzerland with 5 ratings

Just bought it today for an introductory price in the shop chain where it seems to replace the Añejo Reserva. I usually drink rum neat, so I was a bit surprised when I took my first sip with this Añejo Espcial! I find it quite smooth, a little sweetness, but not too much, some vanilla and caramel, but otherwise not very complex. But pleasant enough to enjoy drinking it neat!
I also appreciate that obviously not much burnt sugar is added to make it look older than it actually is (as compared to e.g. Myers Dark Rum, which tastes awful like burnt sugar!).
A nice and uncomplicated easy drinkable rum - could be a little cheaper though (here in Switzerland).

Posted over 4 years ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

I enjoyed countless bottles of this one in my life. Very fair price for what you get!

Posted over 1 year ago by Coop NL from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Compared to the Havana Club 7 anos, is this one less intense. But very nice and good priced rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Bart from Belgium with 4 ratings

Simple but good. Soft with a taste. For friend and family. Party ore evening.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumncoke from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Always a great rum night with my favourite "bang for bucks" rum. Every drink improves an already exceptional Cuban flavour. In my opinion better than the more expensive 7 year old

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon maloney from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Smooth but with a twang. A really nice drink with a great flavour.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jacco from Belgium with 3 ratings

Very tasteful, a really good basic rum in my opinion the best for that kind of money

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

In my opinion best quality:price ratio. The price is very pleasant, nevertheless the rum is surprisingly good. Suitable for drinking straight or in a drink. A bit drier taste. Very well deserved 80%.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

Prepare your brain for a forgotten languege - Russian English :)
For most rum lovers, Havana Club Anejo Especial is a good rum for cocktails. But not for sipping. Perhaps this is true, but for my taste this rum is quite good for drinking neat. Especially for its affordable price. This is a matured in white oak barrels rum, which has its own character. Aroma of dried fruits, some vanilla and chocolate. Freshly opened rum had a fine taste of raisins and apricots. After the bottle was exhausted, the wonderful aftertaste was gone, but the rum retained the sweetish flavor of dried fruits, cocoa and a little spice. The first time in my memory a just open bottle of alcohol I like more than injected with oxygen. In general, I recommend. Good, quality, inexpensive rum.

Для большинства ценителей рома, Havana Club Anejo Especial хороший ром для коктейлей. Но не для того чтобы пить его чистым. Возможно это так и есть, но на мой вкус этот ром вполне хорош для питья чистым. Особенно учитывая его доступную цену. Это вполне сформировавшийся в бочках ром, имеющий свой характер. Аромат сухофруктов, немного ванили и шоколада. Свежеоткрытый ром имел ярко выраженный привкус изюма и абрикоса. После того, как бутылка продышалась, то изумительное послевкусие ушло, но ром сохранил сладковатый привкус сухофруктов, какао и немного специй. Первый раз на мой памяти бутылка свежеоткрытого алкоголя мне нравится больше, чем продышавшаяся. Вобщем рекомендую. Хороший, качественный недорогой ром.

Posted about 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Carries a deep cocoa, chocolate, almost coffee flavour.

Posted over 2 years ago by Caolan Doherty from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

A simple yet tasty rum for a simple drink. Highly recommend

Posted over 2 years ago by Pavel from Russian Federation with 3 ratings

Good rum for its price. Quite soft and pleasant taste to drink it with ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alvaro D. from Argentina with 13 ratings

In the world are better rums by half prized... never drink it again

Posted over 3 years ago by boogaloodude from Belgium with 11 ratings

If you really wanna mix coke and dark rum.. try this one. But it doesn't need to be mixed, great taste...

Posted almost 4 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

A bit harsh straight up, but i love it when it's mixed. My go to drink when the barr has no real good rum to offer. Especially with fanta it's amazing. The orange really enhances the rum

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not a favorite on ice or straight but the perfect rum for Cuba Libre.

Posted 19 days ago by L_w_123678 from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Definitely so far the best rum I've had. Perfect with coke. Recommend to anyone

Posted 20 days ago by Uniboy1979 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

One of my favourite rums. Will be buying this again. Nice and sweet just how I like it

Posted 21 days ago by Dark Waters from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

One of our favourite rum to drink neat in Cuba. It’s smooth, sweet & easy going. There is body here but it’s not too heavy. Defo was our go go out there.

Posted 23 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I had bought a few bottles of this at an auction. Didn’t know what to expect but the price I bought it at it didn’t matter. It was a great drink mixed with coke. A little to harsh to drink on its own but to have a few mixed drinks on a weekend perfect.

Posted 27 days ago by VascoF from Portugal with 5 ratings

Nice quality versus price.

Good to have at home!

Posted 28 days ago by Kodanik from Estonia with 5 ratings

Best price and taste ratio.
I love this rum with cola and lime!

Posted about 1 month ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Its just ok, okish rum if you dont want to pay much

Posted about 1 month ago by gigi_marca from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Smooth beginning, with a slight warm bite on the back of the mouth. Almost a warm cinnamon note. Enjoyable sipping neat or with coke.

Posted about 1 month ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

There are better rums for sale but still if this is in discount I sometimes buy it to mix it. Nothing special.