Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Anejo Especial

Cuba | Gold

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

6.0/10 (333 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
24
62
122
89
24
5

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


333 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Méně kvalitnější Kubánský rum s jemně sladkou vůní i chutí. Slušný poměr cena/výkon.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by VladimirGrg from Croatia with 14 ratings

It's solid rum, many people start with this rum but it's completely opposite than Captain Morgan for example as starter. No much sweetness or spices. It has whisky feeling because it's mostly oak that I taste.I was actually surprised by amount of oak taste. I like it it's not special but very solid and excellent for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 100 ratings

Unmistakable Havana Club with pronounced tobacco and wood in smell, taste and aftertaste. I cannot remember first time I tried this rum, but it must be some 25 years ago. I believe the recipe changed few years back and significant amount of vanilla aroma was added. Some people do not like the bottom HC product line (think 3y, Especial, 7y) smell, the body, the alcohol burn. Well, I am pretty much used to it after all these years, so I am able to sip HC Especial, no problem. There is some sugar added, I believe 20g/l is the maximum allowed by law in Cuba. Makes decent Cuba libre. Imported from Cuba.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Yeah it’s ok for mixing. Nice enough daiquri and for blending cocktails

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by evets0452 from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

As the title says, nice rum but no where near as the 7 year. Not as much body or taste but still a great mixer. Got into Havana rum when visiting Cuba, always a safe bet for a pleasent drink.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Davos418 from Australia with 5 ratings

This is my gold standard for making cocktails (unless I need a specific profile). It's smooth but bold, it lingers but doesn't stain. I honestly feel that any improvement would overpowering its ability to work in almost any rum cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 6 ratings

me encanta este rum sabor profundo y perdurable , puro lo tomo , y aca en Argentina se consigue barato es muy buena relacion calidad precio , lo seguire comprando

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

This rum was ok. Definitely preferred the longer aged versions of this brand.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by nickprice from Netherlands with 17 ratings

For me this is a mixing rum, used as a base for cocktails with friends that are already drunk. It’s obviously not as refined as the 7 which I think is a decent option even neat. It’s just rougher but still has a decent enough cameral flavour and is sweet as you’d expect. For the price it’s hard to fault but then it’s not particularly interesting either.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Easy drinking rum. Not to sweet. A everyday rum. Lacks a bit of body.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

This one is surprisingly smooth and sweetish. A budget option of the diplomatico