Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Great rum for casual drinking. Good for drinks and cocktails and even drinkable as it is. It has a strong smell of alcohol which is bad but its not something what could ruin its taste. I doubt that for this price you can get another good rum like this

Posted 6 months ago by DjaiBi from Germany with 5 ratings

I favourise this one compared to the Common 3yo Havanna Club because of the smoother taste and sweet note.

Posted 6 months ago by Uma from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

Nice to spend time with you’re friends, not expensive at all

Posted 6 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Had occasion to enjoy several new (to me) rums during a recent trip to Cuba (some I liked while others just were not my thing). The majority of these rums are meant to be consumed with coke or some other concoction but since I drink my rums “neat” my reviews will be rated might accordingly.

The Havana Club Anejo Especiale (said to be made from rums aged up to 5 years) is similar in taste to the HC Anejo Reserva and once again I found this rum to be better than I had anticipated.

Posted 6 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar estimated at 5 GPL. This is a mixing rum. Don't bother to try it as a sipping rum. Vanilla, oak, coffee all coming together with a harsh taste that needs coke or some other mixing agent. It's a cheap bar rum that does the job. It's the younger version of the Havana Club 7. Spend the extra and get the 7.

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Germany with 21 ratings

Grundsolider Rum zum Mixen von Cocktails und Longdrinks.

Posted 7 months ago by vocalisedclown from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Not a bad rum wouldn't be my first choice but for the price is reasonable

Posted 7 months ago by Dennis66 (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Drinkable rum if the Havana 7 is sold out in the liquor store

Posted 7 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This was my go to mixer rum when I first started my journey into the wide world of rum.

Posted 7 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Easy cheap Ron, better for mixing, than drink it alone.

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

Review for the Cuban version. Simple rum, not harsh or any off flavors but no complexity to speak of. Aged well

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This is just a perfect rum for a good and sweet "Rum Coke". It is not expensive at all and does the work for mixing.

Posted 7 months ago by 25RdR from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Obviously not a decent rum on the rocks but for mixing this is my go to brand!

Posted 7 months ago by Fio_Letta from Ukraine with 16 ratings

Perfectly balanced, mild flavor with notes of caramel, vanilla, cinnamon and orange .

Posted 7 months ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

Zatím nejlepší z rodiny rumů Havana Club co jsem zkusil, ale nic moc. Příliš silně čpí po alkoholu, dlouho trvá než přestane. Pak je celkem sladký, cítím i vanilku, ale zázrak se nekoná.

Posted 8 months ago by Chaby86 from Netherlands with 2 ratings

Vind hem persoonlijk niet geschikt om puur te drinken een iets te sterke nasmaak die blijft hangen. Maar gemengd met cola is die zeker niet verkeerd.

Posted 8 months ago by Matto980 from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This is my go to rum for when I’m not splashing out

Posted 9 months ago by opkins from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Very smooth and drinkable. This is one of my favourites, out of the small selection of rums I’ve tried so far. Tastes of vanilla and chocolate.

Posted 9 months ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

This was bought for me a birthday present. My previous experience of Havana was not memorable so I was not expecting too much. However; what I found was a smooth rum, with subtle vanilla. Maybe not comparable with Old J Spiced rum but enjoyable never the less

Posted 9 months ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Ja, schon wuchtiger und rauchiger als ein Old Pascas. Ist aber noch etwas milder, und dadurch auch ganz gut pur zu trinken. Sicher auch zum Mixen gut zu gebrauchen. Für den kompletten Abend pur wär's mir aber doch etwas zu viel. Dennoch geht ein "kann man den meisten empfehlen" IMHO hier in Ordnung.

Posted 10 months ago by ratchet from Croatia with 7 ratings

precise naglasen alkohol, bar meni, do arome se tesko dode

Posted 10 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 79 ratings

Take it as a regular 4.75 to a 5.0.

With Coke quite tasty, but nothing special. I prefer the three year old, due to the more distinguished taste to it.

Posted 10 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Not something premium but vfm. Nice taste. Nose was a little bit confused with alchool. Recommend with ice.

Posted 11 months ago by Stan from Bulgaria with 9 ratings

One would definitely expect more of a rum, that contains “especial” in its name...

Posted 11 months ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Méně kvalitnější Kubánský rum s jemně sladkou vůní i chutí. Slušný poměr cena/výkon.




#