Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Great rum for casual drinking. Good for drinks and cocktails and even drinkable as it is. It has a strong smell of alcohol which is bad but its not something what could ruin its taste. I doubt that for this price you can get another good rum like this

Posted 23 days ago by Pricky55 from Australia with 6 ratings

Today’s rum is Havana Club Especial Añejo. I tried this rum with just soda water and ice, and it was very nice and smooth. It was not too sweet and had a very nice after taste. Being Caribbean it tastes much like Mount Gay but not quite as sweet. I haven’t tried this rum with coke, but I think it would be a good mixer. If making a rum based cocktail Havana Especial would be ideal. A nice aged rum

Rating 6/10

Havana Club Especial Añejo is a product of Cuba and is available at First Choice at $47.00 for a 700ml bottle.

Posted 26 days ago by Lucas1997 from Netherlands with 7 ratings

This is a rum I have to keep me away from my quality bottles. That being said, this is not a bad rum at all. It is very cheap however can still be drank neat and is still quite delicious. For the price, you cannot complain about this rum.

Posted 28 days ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

I think this is intended for a strictly mixing use, even if the cuban one is nicer than the one sold in extra cuban terroir. Average at best.

Posted about 1 month ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

This mixes well, but tastes good on its' own. Sweet and floral. Enjoyable. Kind of a nice change.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

À boire avec accompagnement, beau rhum brun rapport qualité/prix.

Posted 2 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

Good strong tobacco and molasses notes. A little hot but makes a fine daiquiri.

Posted 2 months ago by JoeyKistemaker from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Fair priced rum.
I never understand what they mean with "double oaked" but the taste is alright! Not the best for sipping but really good for mixing and your not rum loving friends.

Posted 3 months ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

As smooth as silk a lovely little rum very flavoursome

Posted 3 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

It may not be my favourite rum, but it's pretty good for the price range it finds itself. Easy enough to drink and easy to pick up without spending a fortune, but that's as far as it goes for me.

Posted 3 months ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Prefer Havana Club 7 but this is a decent rum at a reasonable price

Posted 3 months ago by Jonbee56 from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Quite average, nothing to write home about, on par with Morgan spiced, just a little bit sharper.

Posted 3 months ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Even more sugar, lighter tasting vanilla, more caramel, and still tobacco dominates.

Posted 4 months ago by chris009 from Poland with 20 ratings

Very tasty in cuba libre. Solid value for this price.
50pln/0,7 Lidl PL

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Typical Cuban light carmel flavor and to be used as a mixer

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

This is what HC is, best quality for best price, This rum is well balanced, could be sip, but much better for drinks and cocktails. Tt is really underrated. Thats good rum for beginners.

Posted 4 months ago by slawekr from Poland with 13 ratings

I don't remember its taste but good to mix with cola.

Posted 4 months ago by Anthossandro from France with 14 ratings

A boire en cocktail avec du coca, intéressant pour le prix

Posted 5 months ago by Mcole1994 from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

This rum is non offensive and is a great rum. You know what you are getting and it's a step up from captain morgen

Posted 5 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Очень приятный, в меру сладкий, в меру терпкий. Сложный вкус/аромат, присутствует жжёный сахар , а также кофе и ваниль. Пьётся легко и приятно, оставляет приятное послевкусие. Единственный недостаток - в аромате и вкусе спиртяга таки чувствуется.

Very nice, moderately sweet and harsh. A complicated taste and aroma with caramel, vanilla and a touch of coffee. A good sipper with a pleasant aftertaste. The only shortcoming is that you can still sense spirit harshness in taste and aroma.

Posted 5 months ago by zaks from France with 38 ratings

Un classique des rhums cubains, à boire de préférence en cocktail

Posted 5 months ago by Pepperman from Germany with 18 ratings

The better version of Havana's 3y old: more aromatic, a good base for mixing.

Posted 5 months ago by Ubertulsons from Latvia with 7 ratings

Very good rum for partying, rum cola combination, also may drink stright acceptable

Posted 5 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Buen precio para lo que es realmente. Solo para mezlcar, un buen cuba libre! Salud!

Posted 6 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

Havana Club is, for good and bad, one of the most known brands of rum in the world. I haven´t tried much of their rums, but had a chance to try the Anejo Especial, which I, of course, didn´t say no to.

Nose: Vanilla, butterscotch, ginger and orange
Taste: Vanilla, pineapple, caramel, toast and some mild spice to round it of.
Overall: This is a pretty ordinary rum, that is taken down a notch by a very sweet taste, that is dominated by vanilla. This is a fine rum for a (sweet) Cuba Libre, but I would not recommend drinking it neat because of the overwhelming sweetness.




#