Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Anejo Especial

Cuba | Gold

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

6.0/10(345 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
24
64
127
93
24
6

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

345 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

This rom is really good for mixers or cakes.The aftertaste is to alkoholic for a sipping rum, I think.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kirethidae from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

I totally agree with a lot of others here, this rum is best utilised as a rum for cocktails, especially, yes, Cuba Libres. Great value for its low pricepoint, it is definitely a satisfying rum when mixed with coke and lime over lots of ice where its subtle spiciness and zest make those mixed drinks a step above normality.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by skocan from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Even its years i still remember it. I guess u never go rly wrong with havana. It feels stronger, end is sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

Too sweet for my taste, no real depth of favours, just a generic rum taste. Nothing offensive about it, but nothing overly exciting either.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

rhum de base bon pour les cocktails, pas d'interet en dégustation

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joey from Netherlands with 3 ratings

It isn't the best rum you'll ever have, it isn't nearly the worst you can get. It's an overall nice rum for a really good price. It has some good tastes which I like in a cuban rum.
Please note that part of the reason I give it this a high rating is because of it's really good prices here, I've been able to get this around 15euros every time and for that price it's a good rum. Would it sell for 40-50 it wouldn't suddenly be a bad rum, but you would expect some more of it.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

When it is super hot and you need a refreshment to cool off, you can trust this affordable rum. Always a safe bet! Cheers

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Italy with 18 ratings

It gives your Cuba Libre a different identity. A perfect rum for cocktails as it has a more particular taste than the other competitors, but it is almost impossible to drink straight as it's very rough and harsh.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Love that this one is in the collection. This rum is unbelievable to the nose. After a good sniff the first sip is kind of a let down. However after you get over that this rum is worth a try. It's not my favorite sipping rum as I like my rum on the rocks. However it's not a drink I would turn down. I am sure it would be a great improvement from your typical captain or bacardi in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 2 ratings

Info: Trinke Rum nur pur.

Geschmacklich kein Wunder, aber für den Preis okay. Anfang ziemlich stark, hinten raus aber sehr vanillig. Wer nicht viel Geld ausgeben will, macht hier aber für einen durchaus trinkbaren Rum nichts falsch.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Whoozl from Switzerland with 5 ratings

Just bought it today for an introductory price in the shop chain where it seems to replace the Añejo Reserva. I usually drink rum neat, so I was a bit surprised when I took my first sip with this Añejo Espcial! I find it quite smooth, a little sweetness, but not too much, some vanilla and caramel, but otherwise not very complex. But pleasant enough to enjoy drinking it neat!
I also appreciate that obviously not much burnt sugar is added to make it look older than it actually is (as compared to e.g. Myers Dark Rum, which tastes awful like burnt sugar!).
A nice and uncomplicated easy drinkable rum - could be a little cheaper though (here in Switzerland).