Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Anejo Especial

Cuba | Gold

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

6.0/10 (334 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
24
62
122
90
24
5

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


334 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Not something premium but vfm. Nice taste. Nose was a little bit confused with alchool. Recommend with ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stan from Bulgaria with 9 ratings

One would definitely expect more of a rum, that contains “especial” in its name...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Méně kvalitnější Kubánský rum s jemně sladkou vůní i chutí. Slušný poměr cena/výkon.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

A young blended Cuban, aged in oak.
It does what it says on the tin, and well.
Good nose of dried fruit with a bit of wood.
Aroma in the mouth a little overpowered by the lively alcohol, subtle oakey finish.
Sharp burn.
Not a top sipper, but then it's not meant to be.
Great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 41 ratings

Ok actually, I was expecting worse. Mixer, but you could drink it straight without too much pain as long as you’ve got enough ice knocking about. Probably a little better than the 7 year old.

Edit 2019: it’s changed. It’s just sweet nonsense now. I swear it used to say three years on the bottle too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

A 5.5 on my scale. Shared from a friend. Good, but not great (the rum, not the friend). No interesting flavors (same qualifier).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by dragon from Slovenia with 19 ratings

First sips with rest of the morning coffee gave this a super starting point.
Great value and classic taste of rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Antisoda from Norway with 10 ratings

It is quite OK. Initial hit is just fine. No undesirable aftertaste. The taste is not overpowering in any way. Mixed or not, I don't know.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

Not what I expected after reading the posts here. Sugary vanilla was how I caught it and sadly it didn’t work nicely in any of my usual drinks with the exception of the Cuba libre.
Great in a Cuba libre but I don’t think I’ll get it again.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Cuba and rum go hand in hand with a lighter style of rum. They offer a wide range of rums from their 3 year which can be bought for about $20US, to their Holy Grail, Maximo, which will set you back about $1400US.
With this entry by Havana Club, I would lean more towards using this as a mixer or very introductory sipper depending on your threshold for limited complexity and burn and it’s reaction with olfactory and gustatory perception.
At any rate, if you can get your hands on a bottle, do so, especially with how difficult getting anything from Cuba into the States can be.