Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


738 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Piet from Belgium with 12 ratings

Havana Club 7 Anos, it's a very famous brand in Belgium and in the world's. I have tested different kinds of havana. This one is a very good one for cocktail Like Cuba libre Or to mixed with Ginger soda (canada dry in europe).

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Not a bad rum if you can get around the big leathery tobacco-like note at the beginning. I personally don't like it, but if you sip your rum while smoking cigars, you'll love it. I do think this rum actually suffers from some overrating (and price inflation) as its political/historical context make it the Che Guevara t-shirt of the rum drinking world. If you sip it on its own merits, its not bad but not great either.

Posted over 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

HC 7 is not superb and not really bad. It is for me the most drunk rum, known by almost everyone. It's not sweet, has typical cuban notes wood, leather, a bit smokey. It tastes strong although it's not only the alcohol in it, its the flavour itself. As it is easy to buy worldwide (except USA I think) and not too expensive (last bottle I bought cost me 17 Euro) it is absolutely ok for the price. But if you like HC7 I suggest to try other cuban rums that lead a bit into similar directions and are far better for the same or lower price as Caney Centuria or Legendario Añejo (not the sweet Elixir one, that's something different).
I consider it a rum to mix with coke or for coctails, I'd not be able to drink this one straight.

Posted over 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 1 rating

This is a favoured rum, I enjoy it a lot, one of my regular ones. I have it with a little water, sometimes with ice. There is nothing negative to say about it.

Posted about 4 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This rum makes an "I'm Cuban" statement clearly crafted to be enjoyed alongside a cigar with its complementary tobacco undertones. It's lovely on the nose giving lots of sweet molasses and noticeable vanilla. The palate arrives sweet and spicy developing hot sweet chilli pepper, tobacco wood and light vanilla. It finishes with light syrupy spiced tobacco and a shows a mild short lived helping of base rum sourness that hasn't been completely aged out in the 7 years in oak. This doesn't mar the aftertaste and it goes down well glass after glass. If you like Bourbon this will suit you. It may not suit everyone though. You can grab a bottle for about 20 quid and it definitely holds its own against bottles twice that price. Bit too much E150 but they stick that in every rum - you just cant avoid it. Added sugar is only 5gpl. A very pleasant surprise this Easter and given it's price I'm almost going 8/10. Cheers!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Unmistakably Cuban from the moment you open the bottle, it has a aroma that is full of fruit and a suggestion of being older than it is.
Perfect to drink by itself, with ice or even with your favourite mixer.
A rum you can give to anyone, for their first taste or a rum connoisseur.
Graham.

Posted over 2 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

For what it costs it's an amazing rhum.
Not too sweet and rather complex for it's age.
I like it more and more after every sip i take.

Posted over 2 years ago by Heliumiami from United States with 4 ratings

Ok, first I will apologize for the use of that much-scorned descriptor: "Smooth". However, I was duly impressed at how effortlessly this just slid in as I drank it. Now, that shouldn't be surprising since it is only 80 proof, nevertheless, this really stood out, and likely because lower proof spirits often come across as watery and thin. Not this rum! I'm not yet adept at going into particulars in terms of specific tasting notes, but I will say that this is quite a delicious, light rum, though it's flavour is somewhat understated. It didn't knock my socks off with bold flavours, but it was something that I could just keep sipping and sipping - truly dangerous.

Just for added info: I'm primarily a whisk(e)y drinker, though I have begun to branch out to tequila, rum, cachaca, and gin. The rums I have tried and enjoyed so far are Mount Gay XO and Rhum Vieux Labbé 3 stars, as well as Soul Cachaca.

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthew Rinaldi from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is simply wonderful. It is not completely smooth, but leaves a lingering taste of oak and molasses that makes drinking it memorable. There are better rums, like Tributo 2016, but I have found no better rum in this price range. If you are in Cuba, don't settle for anything less.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Aroma of brandy, raisin, buttery with layer of lifted peppery heat. Gets charming with fruit notes of honeydew melon, pineapple and honey. No faulty notes here. (20/25)

P- Sweet toffee banana, juicy tropical fruits, direct and tasty, balance with fine oak fragrant. Light-medium body. (19/25)

F- Short, pleasantly sweet oak-y caramel, honey and marmalade, some orange and lemon peels. (18/25)

Balanced:- Pleasant sips, best with ice, light but tasty with well aged citrus fruits expression. Just a bit short on the exit. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonathan from Canada with 4 ratings

When I went to Cuba 4 years ago, I was only starting to enjoy rum. Since then I've tasted quite a few rums, but this is the one I return to the most. Great nose, great color, reasonable burn (which is something I like), practically no added sugar and decent price here (33$) in QC, Canada, it's a win-win-win situation. I always drink it neat, and I love the linging taste it leaves behind, even after a few minutes. Rating this rum less than 6 is a shame, or it comes from sugar lovers :)

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Not greate as sipper! but ok for Coke drink and other drinks.

Posted over 5 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Der Preis schwankt immer zwischen 20€ und 28€. Man kann ihn pur trinken, aber meiner Meinung nach ist er besser für einen "sehr guten" Cuba Libre geeignet.

Posted about 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Very available rum. Can be bought at any store. Slightly spicy and smoky flavor. For me better than Flor de cana 7yo.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled this rum while in Cuba, aromas of caramel and molasses are evident to the nose. This is a decent quality rum that I would qualify as a good sipper rum. Oak is noticeable and the finish is smooth.

Update: purchased a bottle of Havana Club 7 yr and this is definitely up m6 alley. Reminds me somewhat of the Mount Gay XO although not as strong or sweet. Deserves an 8 rating.

Posted about 3 years ago by Miguel from Netherlands with 4 ratings

This is the classic rum anyone should start with, affordable balanced, surprisingly.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The first time you open the bottle and drink it, you find it strong with abondant alcohol taste (as is the case with most rums) but let the bottle sit for a week and try again.

Nose: very clear smell of honey and chocolate. And in the background you get tobacco and vanilla. Exactly what's written on the outside of the bottle, no kidding.

Palette: Full body. This is NOT a mellow rum. Not detecting much taste. There is a slight harshness.

Finish: Long finish with the exact same flavors mentioned above. Flavors are full and rich, yet not too strong. Flavors aren't too mixed together so you can still distinguish every flavor (this also implies it isn't a refined rum)

Unlike what many people say, this is a great sipping rum, if you're looking for clear rich flavors. This is an excellent rum to pair with heavy cigars. Don't drink it with mild cigars though as this rum will overpower the cigar's taste.

This was a gift from my brother John from overseas. Thanks bro!

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr guter Mix-Rum, durchaus auch pur zu trinken (in der Not).
In der Nase und Gaumen ein wenig streng, Karamell, Toffee.
Abgang schnell weg.

Very good mix rum, quite pure to drink (in the emergency).
In the nose and palate a little strict, caramel, toffee.
Finish quickly away.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

A reference in roundness. Very well balanced, easy to drink. Lacks some power and spicyness maybe. A classic for my mojitos or Cuba libre.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

One of the first rums I added to my collection. The taste is just okay, nothing special about it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dieter De Kée from Belgium with 1 rating

It's a good rum to start your collection with. It's flavours aren't to strong so you can use it to learn to drink rum straight.. Also comes in handy to give your cocktails an extra punch and a bit stronger rum-taste than a regular white rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Denne rom egner sig bedst til at mixe. Men det gør den til gengæld rigtig godt.

Posted over 7 years ago by MMihran from Canada with 27 ratings

Makes a very nice cuba libre!
Although prefer ED12

Posted about 2 months ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

Brought some back from Cuba. Makes me wish I had brought more back. Nice smooth leathery tobacco caramel. My favorite.

Posted about 2 months ago by Tito from Slovenia with 2 ratings

After reading many good reviews I had to try this rum. It is nice on the nose. That's the only positive for me. Some see this as a smooth rum. This is not smooth at all. It burns and it is bad for stomach, mine started to protest right away. Thai Sangsom can give it a lesson in smoothness for 10 euros and it is also much much easier on your stomach. This Havana rum has some strange woody aroma which is disgusting to me. And it never goes away. I don't think this is a good mixer. This woody aroma is so strong, you have to like it to be happy with any drink made of this rum. I strongly recommend trying before buying. This was my first and also my last bottle.