Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

6.5/10 (789 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
9
38
99
218
268
115
26
10

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


789 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

I loved it .....
Havana club is one of my favourite distinctively different tasting rums of all time. Enough said!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Not a bad rum if you can get around the big leathery tobacco-like note at the beginning. I personally don't like it, but if you sip your rum while smoking cigars, you'll love it. I do think this rum actually suffers from some overrating (and price inflation) as its political/historical context make it the Che Guevara t-shirt of the rum drinking world. If you sip it on its own merits, its not bad but not great either.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

HC 7 is not superb and not really bad. It is for me the most drunk rum, known by almost everyone. It's not sweet, has typical cuban notes wood, leather, a bit smokey. It tastes strong although it's not only the alcohol in it, its the flavour itself. As it is easy to buy worldwide (except USA I think) and not too expensive (last bottle I bought cost me 17 Euro) it is absolutely ok for the price. But if you like HC7 I suggest to try other cuban rums that lead a bit into similar directions and are far better for the same or lower price as Caney Centuria or Legendario Añejo (not the sweet Elixir one, that's something different).
I consider it a rum to mix with coke or for coctails, I'd not be able to drink this one straight.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Doug from Canada with 1 rating

This is a favoured rum, I enjoy it a lot, one of my regular ones. I have it with a little water, sometimes with ice. There is nothing negative to say about it.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Jonathan from Canada with 4 ratings

When I went to Cuba 4 years ago, I was only starting to enjoy rum. Since then I've tasted quite a few rums, but this is the one I return to the most. Great nose, great color, reasonable burn (which is something I like), practically no added sugar and decent price here (33$) in QC, Canada, it's a win-win-win situation. I always drink it neat, and I love the linging taste it leaves behind, even after a few minutes. Rating this rum less than 6 is a shame, or it comes from sugar lovers :)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This rum makes an "I'm Cuban" statement clearly crafted to be enjoyed alongside a cigar with its complementary tobacco undertones. It's lovely on the nose giving lots of sweet molasses and noticeable vanilla. The palate arrives sweet and spicy developing hot sweet chilli pepper, tobacco wood and light vanilla. It finishes with light syrupy spiced tobacco and a shows a mild short lived helping of base rum sourness that hasn't been completely aged out in the 7 years in oak. This doesn't mar the aftertaste and it goes down well glass after glass. If you like Bourbon this will suit you. It may not suit everyone though. You can grab a bottle for about 20 quid and it definitely holds its own against bottles twice that price. Bit too much E150 but they stick that in every rum - you just cant avoid it. Added sugar is only 5gpl. A very pleasant surprise this Easter and given it's price I'm almost going 8/10. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Unmistakably Cuban from the moment you open the bottle, it has a aroma that is full of fruit and a suggestion of being older than it is.
Perfect to drink by itself, with ice or even with your favourite mixer.
A rum you can give to anyone, for their first taste or a rum connoisseur.
Graham.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

For what it costs it's an amazing rhum.
Not too sweet and rather complex for it's age.
I like it more and more after every sip i take.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Heliumiami from United States with 4 ratings

Ok, first I will apologize for the use of that much-scorned descriptor: "Smooth". However, I was duly impressed at how effortlessly this just slid in as I drank it. Now, that shouldn't be surprising since it is only 80 proof, nevertheless, this really stood out, and likely because lower proof spirits often come across as watery and thin. Not this rum! I'm not yet adept at going into particulars in terms of specific tasting notes, but I will say that this is quite a delicious, light rum, though it's flavour is somewhat understated. It didn't knock my socks off with bold flavours, but it was something that I could just keep sipping and sipping - truly dangerous.

Just for added info: I'm primarily a whisk(e)y drinker, though I have begun to branch out to tequila, rum, cachaca, and gin. The rums I have tried and enjoyed so far are Mount Gay XO and Rhum Vieux Labbé 3 stars, as well as Soul Cachaca.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Rinaldi from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is simply wonderful. It is not completely smooth, but leaves a lingering taste of oak and molasses that makes drinking it memorable. There are better rums, like Tributo 2016, but I have found no better rum in this price range. If you are in Cuba, don't settle for anything less.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Aroma of brandy, raisin, buttery with layer of lifted peppery heat. Gets charming with fruit notes of honeydew melon, pineapple and honey. No faulty notes here. (20/25)

P- Sweet toffee banana, juicy tropical fruits, direct and tasty, balance with fine oak fragrant. Light-medium body. (19/25)

F- Short, pleasantly sweet oak-y caramel, honey and marmalade, some orange and lemon peels. (18/25)

Balanced:- Pleasant sips, best with ice, light but tasty with well aged citrus fruits expression. Just a bit short on the exit. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.