Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year

Cuba | Aged

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

6.4/10 (812 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
39
101
224
278
118
25
11

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


812 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 371 ratings

Sehr guter Mix-Rum, durchaus auch pur zu trinken (in der Not).
In der Nase und Gaumen ein wenig streng, Karamell, Toffee.
Abgang schnell weg.

Very good mix rum, quite pure to drink (in the emergency).
In the nose and palate a little strict, caramel, toffee.
Finish quickly away.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Dbix from Portugal with 4 ratings

Not for sipper. Hard to drink even from cuba libre.. Desappointed

Small inigo

Posted 1 day ago by OdysseusUnbound from Canada with 9 ratings

I first tried Havana Club 7 when someone left a bottle at my place last year. He lives in Calgary (I'm in Ontario) so I assumed he wasn't coming back for it. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. HC7 didn't blow me away, but it works well neat or on the rocks, as well as in a rum Old Fashioned or a rum Manhattan. There are some nice leather aromas, some molasses, dark roast coffee, brown sugar sweetness, and a touch of vanilla and bananas. Interesting enough to sip on its own and affordable enough to offer to your friends and relatives who will drown it in Coca-Cola.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by HaniszCZ from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Great do consual drinking with friends which have like sweet taste.

Small 20201127 182808

Posted 7 days ago by dsurtai1 from United States with 42 ratings

When i went to Cuba, this rum was the first one i tried. You taste notes of tobacco, leather, caramel, and you can taste the bourbon finish at the end. It has just enough burn and it goes great with cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Loud from Canada with 21 ratings

I can tell it’s nice stuff, but I’m just not a huge fan of the molasses flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by lucle5 from Canada with 12 ratings

Si vous allez à Cuba, c'est la bouteille à ramener. Pas cher pour un rhum de cette qualité, goût caramel cacao.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Pirate from Greece with 25 ratings

I got this as a gift from relatives, before 2010. Mediocre and basic, with the only thing noteworthy about it, being its bite. They also brought cigars. Both of those were being sold dirt cheap, at their production sites. My Montechristo and Cohiba were actually wasted, being puffed right next to this. I was never good in nice pairings, anyway...

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Carbon from Denmark with 15 ratings

An important preface is that this rum is available in Denmarkf for 22€ regularly - that's 26 $, so I'm not judging it from the rarity of the American market, in which case I'd probably rate it 5 ot 6. It's pretty good for a Cuba libre, maybe even Dark & Stormy or other drinks of low ABV. For a Cuba Libre, it is however EXCELLENT - the best I've had yet. I wouldn't use it for tiki or other other rum forwards drinks, but for a "base", it's very good for the money.

EDIT: Actually, after tasting it neat a few times, I've upped my score to an 8. My current opinion is that in Denmark, you DO NOT get a better rum for 170 dkk/22 euros. It's as good as a millonario on the rocks, and at little more than half the price. The only downside is if you're expecting a classic cuban room with heavy wood, leather and tobacco, this one is more in line with the sweeter Dominican Republic rums (though not quite as sweet).

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by ZOSS-BOSS from Spain with 3 ratings

HC7 and Ice only doesn´t taste the best but for mixing it´s okay i wouldn´t recommend it... There are better rums for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CaptainMorgan.07 from Poland with 10 ratings

Bought accicentally, but drank with pleasure. Light and sweet