Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

6.5/10 (789 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
9
38
99
218
268
115
26
10

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


789 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Sehr guter Mix-Rum, durchaus auch pur zu trinken (in der Not).
In der Nase und Gaumen ein wenig streng, Karamell, Toffee.
Abgang schnell weg.

Very good mix rum, quite pure to drink (in the emergency).
In the nose and palate a little strict, caramel, toffee.
Finish quickly away.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dirty Ernie from United States with 2 ratings

This is pretty good (and inexpensive!) rum. You can't buy it in the US but it's legal to bring back. Since Canada is exactly 102.5 miles up I-81 from my driveway in Syracuse I go from time to time and I always bring some back. It's $17.66 US for 750ml. I use it and the 3 year as mixers with tonic because I like to keep things simple. Just tonic, ice, Havana Club and lime juice sets me up fine.

Bacardi has tried (and so far failed) to sell their orina de caballo under the Havana Club brand. Make sure you have the real ron de Cuba or else you'll wind up drinking Castillo at a premium price.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Charlie Barth from United States with 1 rating

My first taste of Cuban rum. My first sip was nothing special. As I continued to partake in it the flavors started to show themselves. The oak was ever present but you could tastes tobacco and honey in the background. I hope to purchase 2 bottles to take back home.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Cuba has got much more to offer like Santiago or Legendario. This one is just commercial study. But ok to drink but nothing great

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Malei from France with 76 ratings

À mettre en coktail pour un meilleur rendu. Plutôt chère mais facile à trouver.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 33 ratings

Aroma is strong, eyewatering strong... Lacquer thinner is definitely there with this one. Strong juicy first taste. Don't know what "leathery" or "tobacco" taste like, but to me there's strong pineapple there, almost like concentrate. Peach!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

It's the best one available at the supermarket, either that or Mount Gay Eclipse. I went for this tonight because I wanted something a little darker to try the 'Dark and Stormy'. Just killing time till my online order of finer rums arrive in a few days.
I like the Rum Howler's reviews, especially the one about this rum where he imagines being in a smoky bar with a burly bartender wiping the sweat from his brow before wiping the bar with the same towel.
I get what he says. I'm new to trying to distinguish aromas but the smoky tobacco is unmistakable. This needs to air a while before sipping, but it's better with coke zero.
I thankfully stopped smoking a while ago but after a few glasses of this you want to break out a 20 pack of Embassy number 1 and deal the cards, talk shit as your vision gets hazy, sleazy women propping up the bar. You could say this rum takes you to Havana, while not a top rum it's cheap and worth the road trip, at least until the El Dorado 12 gets here x roll on x

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Cuba libre best buddy !
Le produit phare de la maison Havana Club.

On réinvente pas les classiques!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This rum is a very one of a kind type of rum. You have to go in to it not expecting it to taste like a normal expectant rum taste, however once you let it set in your mouth and then it comes home. Very smooth for a 7+ year rum. Excellent Cuba Libre. Very subtle on the palate light burn but goes down smooth. Did not like the screw on cap, i like a cork but still very enjoyable and fun to par take it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

Rhum à Cocktails, mojito ou cuba libre iront bien.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I was expecting something better than this. This one hits and hits hard. A "tough-guy" rum. The Añejo Reserva is better than this. Frankly, it's not bad rum overall just not one that qualifies as a sipping rum unless you want to sandpaper the back of your throat. Works best in mixed drinks.

---

UPDATE May 11, 2016: This was one of the first rums I reviewed after the "cruise from hell" in September, 2015. Since then I have edjamacated my palate a bit so to speak so I wanted to re-review this rum. I am glad I did. I initially gave it a "6" but I now believe a "7" would be more accurate.

In the snifter this rum is a rich amber lightening to a golden hue on the edges. It has good legs upon swirling. It does have a somewhat astringent aroma which does tingle the nose a bit. Upon initial tasting I do detect some initial molasses sweetness but that is quickly overwhelmed by a strong oak flavor that has a bit of bitterness to it along with a distinct pepperiness. There is a very noticeable burn that lasts....and I mean LASTS. This is not a rum for beginners and it really isn't as smooth as I would expect from a rum aged for 7 years. It has not been sugared so what you taste is all natural. The finish has an odd taste that I cannot identify but isn't pleasant. I do feel a 6 was a tad too low but frankly it's barely a 7. This is a rum that seems best suited for mixed drinks especially ones with pineapple. That bitterness and strange aftertaste actually works fairly decently with pineapple juice. Haven't tried it with grapefruit yet.

NOT a sipping rum. Definitely a workable mixer. A lot of potential that wasn't reached. Could be a much better rum. If things ever improve in Cuba there is the potential for this rum to improve as well.