Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year

Cuba | Aged

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

6.4/10
864 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
12
38
105
242
302
121
27
11

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

864 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bertrand from France with 15 ratings

Un basique, mais un très bon basique ideal pour des tit punch

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Gersonian (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I had to wait for some business travel to Spain when I was able to pick this up in duty free.

I have really enjoyed this bottle. Smooth, sweet but balanced. I have enjoyed it on the rocks, straight, and in cocktails. I think it's a winner all around, but I hesitate to recommend it to my friends in the US as it so hard to come by.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mrchubbaman from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I’d say a more civilised rum, not my fav but one for the cabinet

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for sharing this with me as part of a rare rum exchange (I can't get this Cuban version in the US). I wasn't expecting to like this much, as I only rated the 3-Year a 4 out of 10. But this was nice.

A bit of sweetness that I didn't expect, but definitely not too sweet. Very smooth.

Smells and tastes of molasses, leather, a light spice, and raisin. Not bad!

Small img 0953

Posted 1 year ago by MerMama from United States with 30 ratings

Brought some back from Cuba. Makes me wish I had brought more back. Nice smooth leathery tobacco caramel. My favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tito from Slovenia with 2 ratings

After reading many good reviews I had to try this rum. It is nice on the nose. That's the only positive for me. Some see this as a smooth rum. This is not smooth at all. It burns and it is bad for stomach, mine started to protest right away. Thai Sangsom can give it a lesson in smoothness for 10 euros and it is also much much easier on your stomach. This Havana rum has some strange woody aroma which is disgusting to me. And it never goes away. I don't think this is a good mixer. This woody aroma is so strong, you have to like it to be happy with any drink made of this rum. I strongly recommend trying before buying. This was my first and also my last bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by rgarver63 from United States with 3 ratings

This was a gift from my beautiful wife on her cruise to Cuba. This is the Rum that made me want to have this as my drink of choice after dinner or just shooting the breeze with friends.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted over 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 106 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Edit at the quarantine: wonderful drink, way above many others 7.5 points!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Крепкий середнячок. Качественный алкоголь без какой-либо индивидуальности.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Time for Birka’s rumcruise 2019 at the Baltic Sea. This was one of the rums that were included at Ian Burrell’s Master class, “Blindtest”. We tested it neat and I had some problems to distinguish it from the Abuelo 12, but got it right.
I don’t think I will drink this neat again, but it’s a nice mixer rum when you want a dark one.
Picture: Brands included at the blindtest.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dirty Ernie from United States with 2 ratings

This is pretty good (and inexpensive!) rum. You can't buy it in the US but it's legal to bring back. Since Canada is exactly 102.5 miles up I-81 from my driveway in Syracuse I go from time to time and I always bring some back. It's $17.66 US for 750ml. I use it and the 3 year as mixers with tonic because I like to keep things simple. Just tonic, ice, Havana Club and lime juice sets me up fine.

Bacardi has tried (and so far failed) to sell their orina de caballo under the Havana Club brand. Make sure you have the real ron de Cuba or else you'll wind up drinking Castillo at a premium price.