Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


739 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Good rum but overrated due to good advertising. Barrel proof Havana trumps it.

Posted 16 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Rather poor rum despite its age, little character. Balance ok but for neat consumption there are much better ones.

Posted 16 days ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I don't have a lot to compare this with in terms of style, so on it's own merit it is a good rum, works with cigars and a little ice or as I generally prefer - in cocktails. Makes some decent simple cocktails but it can be lost in the more complex ones. A good balance and fairly easy drinking making this a solid all-rounder.

Posted 18 days ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Good rum for a mix, dark but rather harsh, not smooth at all.

Posted 21 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It’s good in a pinch. I prefer cruzan single barrel but this works if the liquor store is out of cruzan.

Posted 21 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Decent rum for the price if you can get it close to the border. I wouldn't go out of my way for it, but it's a fun bottle to keep on the shelf.

Posted 25 days ago by VascoF from Portugal with 5 ratings

To sweet for me / Doesn't leave that alcohol freshness in throat :)

Posted 26 days ago by mc from United States with 20 ratings

Horrible. Sharp. It’s a quality label that would leave one to believe it’s a quality, it’s not.

Posted about 1 month ago by gigi_marca from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Fantastic, smooth to the taste, this is a Cuban delight. Great in Cuba Libre

Posted about 1 month ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

As the title says. Nice rum, tastes okay, but I have other favorites which I prefer if I buy a rum in this price class.

Posted about 1 month ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

this stuff will knock her knickers off
Strong powerful and beautiful. this is rum

Posted about 1 month ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

drank this quite a bit, trumps every white rum i ever tasted, but noting to get excited about, take a goslings any day to mix over this rum.

Posted about 1 month ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

I think this is the best entry level to understand aging mechanism, also peculiar because in Cuba is a lot better than elsewhere (I’d give it 7 bottles to cuban one), where is present a prominent alcoholic note. Golden and round, best to start understanding in more complex rums.

Posted about 1 month ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

Taste great with Coke, muddled lime and lots of ice. Of course you can have it in alot of diffrent rum drinks since it's a bit dry. Can be used as an avec if you are out of everything else that you normaly serve as avec.

Posted about 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 36 ratings

.....but not a typical one. I like the effort Havana Club has put in making this; an affordable more complex rum without additives or loads of sugar. And it is all there; vanilla, dried fruit, tobacco and leather. It is promising but it should have been a little more balanced and a little less rough around the edges to become a really pleasant sipper for me. For less money the Mulata 7yo, though less complex, is better balanced, more refined and much more enjoyable than this HC.

Kudos to HC for making this but for me they still have some work to do about their 7yo because as it is now there is no place for this rum in my cabinet.

Posted about 1 month ago by Isento from Netherlands with 1 rating

.…...............................,,,,,,,,,,,.......

Posted about 2 months ago by vladagnr from Serbia with 3 ratings

This rum I can put side by side with good whiskey or brandy. It is strong, nice smell, nice aroma but not sweet like Diplomatico. I like it neat.

I don't know is it same like this from Puerto Rico.

Posted about 2 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

This rum is more for mixing, in my opinion. Not a very nice sipping rum, but not bad either.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour faire un bon rhum/coke ou avec du 7up.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Tried this in Cuba and was hooked, spent two weeks all inclusive with this in my hand with coke and slice of lime.

Posted 2 months ago by pawallen from Canada with 3 ratings

This is a solid rum, but it has No character and has a bit of burn going down it is great on sale but nothing special.

Posted 2 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Nicht wirklich viel besser als sein 3 jähriger Bruder.

Posted 2 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Outstanding quality for price, nothing bad to say about it, very versatile it is good for Cuba libres, highballs, rum and coke or even for sipping(as I normally drink it) . In mouth I find prune and raisin like flavors, molases and light wood, with a slight tobacco finish. You wont go grong with this one

Posted 2 months ago by Helle from Denmark with 5 ratings

Den gør ikke meget væsen af sig - men er skøn ren en hverdags aften. Tydelig duft og smag af “labre larver”.

Posted 2 months ago by Wilfred J Rum from Spain with 10 ratings

Para mi este ron define perfectamente la elaboración cubana. Rones poco dulces, recios, con un toque "bucanero", los paladares más finos tendrán que mezclarlo. Pero yo creo que se puede beber tranquilamente a palo seco. Acompáñalo con un buen habano y tendrás una muy buena experiencia.