Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


741 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Good rum but overrated due to good advertising. Barrel proof Havana trumps it.

Posted almost 5 years ago by LeBlanc from Germany with 3 ratings

Maybe my bottle was a little bit too old, but I can't recommend the 7 year old Havana Club.
Pros:
- nice colour in the glass
- sweet taste with a long finish
Cons:
- pungent alcoholic smell

Overall rating: average rum... without the penetrating smell it could be easily 7 or 8 points. Can't be used for a classic tasting but is drinkable when thinned with some coke, but the price-performance ratio is not the best, just for this purpose.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Da Citty-Park i Flensburg havde denne på tilbud til sølle 130 kr, slog jeg til.
Forventer mig ikke meget af den og vil blive brugt som mixer rom.

Nærmere beskrivelse kommer hurtigts muligt!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marcin from Poland with 10 ratings

This was my first rum ever.
Great mixer, I loved it with cola or in Cuba Libre.

Posted almost 5 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

ενα ρούμι που το πίνεις εξω στα μαγαζια επειδή δεν εχεις τίποτα να πείς άλλο.

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

The anejo is better, but this is still good for rum and cokes.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Definitely has a lot going on. I didn't get as much of the tobacco flavor as others had mentioned, but I've never smoked, so maybe I didn't know what I was looking for. Woodsy and sharp, the flavors changed over time as I drank it. Well rounded and deep, very different than any other rum I've had.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dany at pacifica from Canada with 2 ratings

I've grown to appreciate this rum as a mixer for my rum and comes. It's not the greatest but it does a great job a get together with friends. Add a little like juice and it's a great Cuba Libre

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bjørn from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Smooth bot very exciting rum. Smells very flat. Didn't interest me at all

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Should have gone with something a bit older. Bit smoky, which is nice if you wanna light up a cigar.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

a rum that makers you smile and want more, the sweets and vanilla tones keep climbing allong the Havana line. But in this rum Your mouth gets smacked with flavour.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

for mig er dette helt klart den bedste rom til din cola, på lige fod med en el dorado 12`

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

Nice rum. Probably a 6 but gave it a 7 taste better when you are sitting on a beach.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

It's my favourite of all rum 7 years aged. Every day after dinner. I love hints of tobacco and chocolate. A must have in my cabinet! Recommended for those like me, loves the Cuban-rum flavor.

Posted almost 5 years ago by LVazquez from United States with 7 ratings

I'm sure part of the my enjoyment of Havana Club was the thrill of acquiring it...had to wait for friends to come back from a cruise or such. But I still really found it to be a great mix with Coke. Rum and Coke is my go-to cocktail, and using Havana Club was definitely more interesting of a flavor than just plain ole Bacardi.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikedub from France with 26 ratings

un bon rhum à déguster sec mais pas non plus un indetournable

Posted almost 5 years ago by ghibz from France with 9 ratings

a disappointment to me I want more out of that rum. It's nice but need to be a little more complex.
Can be drink alone or in cocktails

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

The spices aren't overly powerful and not that smooth on its own, but goes great in coke

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rave13 from Italy with 12 ratings

It satisfies just the minimum requirements to say: "Yes, it is a rum to drink out of coktail"... but nothing else!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sandro from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Smooth, sweet and then spicy.
A Rum for every occasion, to mix or to sip. For me a stock bottle

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jeff Smith from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

happily made my way through the bottle, mainly in daiquiris, but it just lacks the oomph you get with more complex rums

Posted about 5 years ago by Stinovic from Belgium with 6 ratings

Fantastic mixer, can even be consumed straight up if you're up for it. I am however beyond that point.
Probably the bottle that made many of us look beyond the regular cuba libre.

Posted about 5 years ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

I expected a soft and smooth rum. The true is that, its a rum with a lot of fine flavours, with a too strong bite. I prefer the Bacardi 8.

Posted about 5 years ago by Barry from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

After being recommended this 7 year, I was disappointed when this rum didn't deliver on taste. Too harsh and confusing to pick up single flavours straight, but bearable with cola.

Posted about 5 years ago by Qban aficionado from Canada with 9 ratings

This is the golden boy rum to have for sipping (commercially available at a reasonable price) if you are a Cuban living abroad and don't get to travel to the island often. I really like the strong smell of the HC7. Like the taste as well although one still finds the harshness that characterizes most of the Cuban rums I have tasted/being able to afford. Such harshness sometimes makes it a non-sipper to citizens from other countries. What I cannot cope with is the cheap bottle cap. Its also not too sweet like the Demerara ED family but not a great value for ~33CAD in Ontario, Canada.
Great for mixing but other cheaper HCs will do the job as well while minimizing the damage to your wallet.