Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year

Cuba | Aged

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

6.4/10 (812 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
39
101
224
278
118
25
11

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


812 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

For those of us who live in the US, but I had a bottle when on vacation in the Cayman Islands. It was a few months ago, so the details will be slightly blurred...but here goes.
This is a medium to slightly dark rum. Full bodied, but not aggressive. I felt like I was drinking "true" Rum, without a lot of additives. It was leathery, and slightly tannic (being a wine drinker, I liked that) with just enough sweetness to please me. I really enjoyed this rum, and my traveling companions did not, which was just fine with me. I din't have to try and sneak any home, and didn't have to share it. Win/Win.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Not greate as sipper! but ok for Coke drink and other drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Dieter De Kée from Belgium with 1 rating

It's a good rum to start your collection with. It's flavours aren't to strong so you can use it to learn to drink rum straight.. Also comes in handy to give your cocktails an extra punch and a bit stronger rum-taste than a regular white rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Der Preis schwankt immer zwischen 20€ und 28€. Man kann ihn pur trinken, aber meiner Meinung nach ist er besser für einen "sehr guten" Cuba Libre geeignet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Very available rum. Can be bought at any store. Slightly spicy and smoky flavor. For me better than Flor de cana 7yo.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 164 ratings

Sampled this rum while in Cuba, aromas of caramel and molasses are evident to the nose. This is a decent quality rum that I would qualify as a good sipper rum. Oak is noticeable and the finish is smooth.

Update: purchased a bottle of Havana Club 7 yr and this is definitely up m6 alley. Reminds me somewhat of the Mount Gay XO although not as strong or sweet. Deserves an 8 rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Miguel from Netherlands with 4 ratings

This is the classic rum anyone should start with, affordable balanced, surprisingly.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The first time you open the bottle and drink it, you find it strong with abondant alcohol taste (as is the case with most rums) but let the bottle sit for a week and try again.

Nose: very clear smell of honey and chocolate. And in the background you get tobacco and vanilla. Exactly what's written on the outside of the bottle, no kidding.

Palette: Full body. This is NOT a mellow rum. Not detecting much taste. There is a slight harshness.

Finish: Long finish with the exact same flavors mentioned above. Flavors are full and rich, yet not too strong. Flavors aren't too mixed together so you can still distinguish every flavor (this also implies it isn't a refined rum)

Unlike what many people say, this is a great sipping rum, if you're looking for clear rich flavors. This is an excellent rum to pair with heavy cigars. Don't drink it with mild cigars though as this rum will overpower the cigar's taste.

This was a gift from my brother John from overseas. Thanks bro!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 371 ratings

Sehr guter Mix-Rum, durchaus auch pur zu trinken (in der Not).
In der Nase und Gaumen ein wenig streng, Karamell, Toffee.
Abgang schnell weg.

Very good mix rum, quite pure to drink (in the emergency).
In the nose and palate a little strict, caramel, toffee.
Finish quickly away.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

A reference in roundness. Very well balanced, easy to drink. Lacks some power and spicyness maybe. A classic for my mojitos or Cuba libre.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

One of the first rums I added to my collection. The taste is just okay, nothing special about it.