Posting your rating...
Havana Club 7-Year rum

Havana Club 7-Year Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and aged in charred white oak barrels for seven years.

Havana Club rum is still made in Cuba - where the company was founded by José Arechabala in 1878 and then nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution. Havana Club is now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

Rate Havana Club 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


738 Havana Club 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Good rum but overrated due to good advertising. Barrel proof Havana trumps it.

Posted 2 months ago by rgarver63 from United States with 3 ratings

This was a gift from my beautiful wife on her cruise to Cuba. This is the Rum that made me want to have this as my drink of choice after dinner or just shooting the breeze with friends.

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Edit at the quarantine: wonderful drink, way above many others 7.5 points!

Posted 7 months ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Крепкий середнячок. Качественный алкоголь без какой-либо индивидуальности.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dirty Ernie from United States with 2 ratings

This is pretty good (and inexpensive!) rum. You can't buy it in the US but it's legal to bring back. Since Canada is exactly 102.5 miles up I-81 from my driveway in Syracuse I go from time to time and I always bring some back. It's $17.66 US for 750ml. I use it and the 3 year as mixers with tonic because I like to keep things simple. Just tonic, ice, Havana Club and lime juice sets me up fine.

Bacardi has tried (and so far failed) to sell their orina de caballo under the Havana Club brand. Make sure you have the real ron de Cuba or else you'll wind up drinking Castillo at a premium price.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Charlie Barth from United States with 1 rating

My first taste of Cuban rum. My first sip was nothing special. As I continued to partake in it the flavors started to show themselves. The oak was ever present but you could tastes tobacco and honey in the background. I hope to purchase 2 bottles to take back home.

Posted about 3 years ago by Filip from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Cuba has got much more to offer like Santiago or Legendario. This one is just commercial study. But ok to drink but nothing great

Posted about 3 years ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

À mettre en coktail pour un meilleur rendu. Plutôt chère mais facile à trouver.

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Aroma is strong, eyewatering strong... Lacquer thinner is definitely there with this one. Strong juicy first taste. Don't know what "leathery" or "tobacco" taste like, but to me there's strong pineapple there, almost like concentrate. Peach!

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

It's the best one available at the supermarket, either that or Mount Gay Eclipse. I went for this tonight because I wanted something a little darker to try the 'Dark and Stormy'. Just killing time till my online order of finer rums arrive in a few days.
I like the Rum Howler's reviews, especially the one about this rum where he imagines being in a smoky bar with a burly bartender wiping the sweat from his brow before wiping the bar with the same towel.
I get what he says. I'm new to trying to distinguish aromas but the smoky tobacco is unmistakable. This needs to air a while before sipping, but it's better with coke zero.
I thankfully stopped smoking a while ago but after a few glasses of this you want to break out a 20 pack of Embassy number 1 and deal the cards, talk shit as your vision gets hazy, sleazy women propping up the bar. You could say this rum takes you to Havana, while not a top rum it's cheap and worth the road trip, at least until the El Dorado 12 gets here x roll on x

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Cuba libre best buddy !
Le produit phare de la maison Havana Club.

On réinvente pas les classiques!

Posted about 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This rum is a very one of a kind type of rum. You have to go in to it not expecting it to taste like a normal expectant rum taste, however once you let it set in your mouth and then it comes home. Very smooth for a 7+ year rum. Excellent Cuba Libre. Very subtle on the palate light burn but goes down smooth. Did not like the screw on cap, i like a cork but still very enjoyable and fun to par take it.

Posted about 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

Rhum à Cocktails, mojito ou cuba libre iront bien.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I was expecting something better than this. This one hits and hits hard. A "tough-guy" rum. The Añejo Reserva is better than this. Frankly, it's not bad rum overall just not one that qualifies as a sipping rum unless you want to sandpaper the back of your throat. Works best in mixed drinks.

---

UPDATE May 11, 2016: This was one of the first rums I reviewed after the "cruise from hell" in September, 2015. Since then I have edjamacated my palate a bit so to speak so I wanted to re-review this rum. I am glad I did. I initially gave it a "6" but I now believe a "7" would be more accurate.

In the snifter this rum is a rich amber lightening to a golden hue on the edges. It has good legs upon swirling. It does have a somewhat astringent aroma which does tingle the nose a bit. Upon initial tasting I do detect some initial molasses sweetness but that is quickly overwhelmed by a strong oak flavor that has a bit of bitterness to it along with a distinct pepperiness. There is a very noticeable burn that lasts....and I mean LASTS. This is not a rum for beginners and it really isn't as smooth as I would expect from a rum aged for 7 years. It has not been sugared so what you taste is all natural. The finish has an odd taste that I cannot identify but isn't pleasant. I do feel a 6 was a tad too low but frankly it's barely a 7. This is a rum that seems best suited for mixed drinks especially ones with pineapple. That bitterness and strange aftertaste actually works fairly decently with pineapple juice. Haven't tried it with grapefruit yet.

NOT a sipping rum. Definitely a workable mixer. A lot of potential that wasn't reached. Could be a much better rum. If things ever improve in Cuba there is the potential for this rum to improve as well.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kuba
Aroma: Hutně kožené, rumově pralinkové aroma s ostře vystupujícím alkoholem. Štiplavá, zemitá, snad až mírně zatuchlá vůně. (82 b)
Chuť: Poměrně hrubá, štiplavá, mírně nasládlá, nijak extra plná chuť. (82 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Měl jsem miniaturu koupenou z Diosu a jsem rád, že jsem neutrácel za celou lahev, která je běžně k dostání v supermarketech. Není to nic uhlazeného, i přes určitou výraznost mě moc nezaujal, přijde mi roztěkaný, disharmonický. Poměr výkon/cena mi přijde velmi slabý. Je spousta lepších rumů v této cenové kategorii, levněji seženete dokonce Pampero Anniversario, které je kvalitou úplně jinde.

Posted over 5 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Was greatly disappointed, tho perhaps I had a bad, or non-legitimate batch of Añejo 7 Años ('aged 7 years') in a Havana Club gift tin from the shop. Was not expecting a Ron Zacapa 23, but was hoping for something interesting in that general direction. This Havana Club's dark bottle yielded a rum light and golden in colour, with some initial pleasant rum flavours immediately overwhelmed by a fiery, burning after-taste. An ice cube took away the fire, but also left the rum without character, a simple sweet drink. Surprised since I enjoy Havana Club's Añejo Especial at one-third less, better both neat or with ice than this bottle I bought of Añejo 7. Ché Guevara would have asked, 'What's going on here?'

Posted almost 6 years ago by Benjamin Slätis from Finland with 7 ratings

Smokey and smooth. I usually keep a bottle of this next to me on playstation gaming nights. Whenever in doubt this is a safe choice.

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Dont find this to be a great rum, but it's not bad either. It contains a manly doze of woody cigar flavours and hints of caramel. If your in the mood for that, it will do the job. It’s semidry, sippable and a decent mixer.

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Bruger kun min til cola.

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Big fan of the 15yr for sipping means im more than happy to use the 7yr in cocktails. Lighter and smoother than expected with wood and vanilla on the nose i find it great to use as your base in a Daiquiri.

Posted 5 days ago by AW from Poland with 2 ratings

Aromatic and delicate. Full body and aksamite finish

Posted 6 days ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

First had in this in Cuba, and it cemented my love for rum. Wonderfully smooth I could drink it all day long.

Posted 7 days ago by Raiderfan1 from Canada with 6 ratings

Never had it straight, it’s always been mixed with something...

Posted 7 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 15 ratings

Unique flavor medium body and color. Not my favorite one cube sipper but great with a full glass of ice yet drinkable straight in a pinch. This ultimately became our rum and coke favorite in the Bahamas, get a 7 since limited availability. Better than the Anejo, and Especial.

Posted 13 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Rather poor rum despite its age, little character. Balance ok but for neat consumption there are much better ones.