Posting your rating...
Havana Club 3-Year rum

Havana Club 3-Year

Cuba | Light

Havana Club 3-Year rum is produced from molasses and aged for 3 years in white oak barrels before filtering and bottling.

Havana Club rum is produced in Cuba, where the company was founded in 1878 by José Arechabala. The company was nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution and now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

5.5/10
485 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
27
70
118
137
89
24
11

Rate Havana Club 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

485 Havana Club 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik from Belgium with 10 ratings

Very nice rum to make some cocktails or just with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Early 2000 Havana Club was introduced in Belgium and became quickly my favourite rum to mix with cola.

To be honest I've put it aside the last years to discover other rums, but it's always nice to come back to this solid reference as a mixing rum!

Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 75 ratings

There you have it. I am not expecting much nor do I want to staple this rum. It is just that I have a Conde de Cuba 3yo waiting and since that is advertised as a rum that also can be sipped I simply wanted to be able to make a comparison. Some say this HC 3yo can only be judged as a mixer but that is nonsense in my book; every rum out there is a sipper, or it is not. I don't mix. Ever.

This is an almost white rum with a sweet nose with some fruity notes (orange peel, very light) and a vague vanilla. But most of what I get is alcohol. On the palate it all remains very light. Partly because it is so young it didn't get the chance to pick up flavours but also because I think it was designed that way (some young rums have an abundance of taste). If I didn't had the bottle to check I could have mistaken this for a light Limonnaya (citrus-vodka). Aftertaste is short with mostly alcohol, a bit of citrus and a wee, wee bit of oak and vanilla.

A tad fiery due to its age and a bit sweetened (8gpl) but all in all certainly not undrinkable.
Nothing to look out for but it has a crisp and clean taste without the rough edges of the 7yo.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Uvbntangoed from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Premium mixer is how I would rate this rum.
Great with coke, ice and lime

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by PJ10683 from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Good value for money but nothing more. Works well with mixing and cocktails

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Toni (PREMIUM) from Germany with 8 ratings

To make it more fun I compared two classics. Botucal(German Diplomatico) and this 3yo Mixer. I made a Cuba libre with a coke light.
You can taste a clear difference there. It was a blind taste. Botucal libre is clearly smoother and you can taste the extra sweetness. Surprisingly good harmony with coke light! Havana libre has a fresh fruity taste but is also harsh and dry. Let's say it was good enough. But I'd prefer Botucal libre.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Sink from Switzerland with 20 ratings

Quite a tasty rum, great for mixing. Way too simple to drink neat but enjoyable nontheless.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Anne from Netherlands with 7 ratings

This is one of my favourites for mixing. I enjoy it far better then Bacardi. The taste is warm and smooth, I would not sip it but some friends do. I use it only for cocktails and then it's great.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Tomeczek from Poland with 12 ratings

Seriously, I don't believe any one think you can drink it solo/on ice. But for cocktails is the absolute finest rum ;)

Ffffff

Posted at Yuniku, Restaurante Japonés over 2 years ago by Javier Pellegrini from Mexico with 3 ratings

It's a smooth rum, very smooth. With not too much burn and a slight wooden finish that makes it a very decent middle point between a gold and white rum. And, while far from perfect (that 7 could easily be a solid 6 or high 5) it might easily become a staple of your liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

It is actually quite drinkable neat - by no means great, but not bad either. Clearly it's mainly meant as a mixer, particularly with coke, but it does have some decent flavour and considering the price, it's a bit of a bargain.