Posting your rating...
Mount Gay 1703 Master Select rum

Mount Gay 1703 Master Select

Barbados | Aged

8.1/10 (46 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
9
15
14
4

Rate Mount Gay 1703 Master Select

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Mount Gay 1703 Master Select ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

00334520c625d880561282e63ab08d7f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Cardene from Belgium with 17 ratings

Mount gay gets alot of hate. 8.2 average for this piece of art!? Insane. This is a superiòr rum, that is true to the name of rum in every way. Smooth, dark, complex, full bodied, sweet , velvety creamy smooth. Delicious!!!

Fbbc57a27103a94891671677e409f635.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

I like mount gay rums, and I love the 1703 Old Cask. I drink the XO regularly, but this "Master Select". is disappointing. I have a bottle of the 2017 batch and its dry and confusing. For a premium rum, I have found it difficult to appreciate this bottle for what it is, as it is overshadowed by what it needs to be. alcohol on the nose, too complex to the point where it leaves you wondering and then finishes you with a dry mouth. I sip Old Cask and while I can sip this? why would I? the experience is on par with XO, which is a fraction of the price of this bottle. It mixes terribly with coke. While I would never mix a premium, they rarely take away from a rum and coke...this one does. Enough said. Disappointed.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl.
The 1703 Master Select has a similar taste profile as the 1703 Old Cask. Nice blend of 10 to 30 year old rums with no sweetness factor. At 43% you can detect the alcohol aroma and a bit more burn than standard 40% abv rums. The good news in the flavour profile aspect is that the oak, vanilla, caramel, and some spice (nutmeg comes to mind) are all present and well balanced in this blend. Like the Old Cask version this one has an initial strong alcohol taste, that moves through the flavour profile and then fades to a nice long afterburn. It's a strong rum that for some drinkers it might require a piece of ice, but for a whiskey drinker it will be just fine. It's a bit pricey and needs to be smoother and more complex to rate any higher.

Ebc8a98110a85a80e7bd31ef0aa5d056.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 43 ratings

Did a Masterclass with Mount Gay ambassador, Mr Chester Browne, who was really fabulous and a great man. Had this one as the last one in the tasting, and I don't know if it was because Mr Browne was so enthusiast about this and I felt his emotions through his words but this one has some real layers. First you can feel apricot right after that vanilla, but it is subtle, it doesn't bother you (I'm not a vanilla fan), then it comes to you freshly baked pastry, and then the wood. It's really round in the mouth, complex, no burn at all, and a very long finish, I wish it never ended. Truly an experience to be done at least once. Not an everyday rum, just for special occasions. After this one I didn't had any other rum that day, it was the perfect ending.

59730dd309c95ecc01a51c37e4d481b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

I always wonder when you purchase something that has the same description as a similar rum from the same maker; if it is just a marketing ploy to get you to purchase something you already own. All be it, in a different bottle and packaging.

I have gone down this road before with Bacardi Gran Reserva Limitada and Bacardi Reserva Limitada.

That being said, there is a difference between the Master Select and the Old Cask Selection but unfortunately it is not for the better. The Master Select seems to have a little more bite and a lot more oak.

I hope this is not the future of rum where they just market the same rum to you with minor tweaks and adjustments.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I believe this is replacing the Mt Gay Old Cask, and is quite a bit pricier ($150 vs $100), so the question I have (and probably others have too) is which one is better, or are they the same?

It is very close. These are both very, very similar, but I think maybe I could tell them apart as this one was ever so slightly sweeter (but just barely). Otherwise, they are both about the same to me.

This is still way too dry for my liking, hence the relatively low score. Smells and tastes of bourbon, oak, caramel, with just a touch of vanilla. Pretty smooth, and if you like heavy bourbon aging, you might enjoy this a lot more than I did. I personally recommend the Mount Gay XO over both of these, and it's more affordable too! :-)

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

The Master Select Rum is a rum blend which features aged pot and column still rum stocks from aged barrels. These barrels have an age range of 10 to 30 years. The master blender, Allen Smith personally selected the 55 barrels (Chosen between casks 8583 and 12921) used within the 1703 Master Select blend. With a beautiful amber color, the nose releases notes of citrus fruits such as orange with notes of coffee, chocolate and coconut. Very complex. On the palate, there are notes of coffee and chocolate, it is very soft on the palate. The woody side comes at the end of the mouth but it is drier and more structured than the Old Cask version. The finish is beautiful, long and complex and woody. The price is high compared to the other version but it allows, if you want to compare them, to understand the essential role of the master blender.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 14 days ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

I rated the Old Cask1703 quite low. Probably because it was my first contact with the English style of rum.
Three years later after tasting lots of English styled rum I’m appreciating this one and also probably the Old Cask if I make a retest.
This time I won’t give you my exact tasting reflections, just give you my overall opinion which is that it’s an superb Bajan rum.
Both my bottles are from the 2018 edition.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Bajan shelf.

6874af1dffab0c7d18fb79f9b23346d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 29 ratings

I dont like Mount Gay rums, but I gave him a try. After swallowing it has a silky taste in the mouth, what is very good, but there is no other flavour.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Time has come to open one of my two bottles of Mount Gay 1703 Master Select rum. This one was bottled in 2016 (my other one in 2018) and I often wondered how it compared to the MGXO which has been my favorite rum to date (with the exception of St. Nicholas Abbey 12 year rum).

On the nose the oak is much more prominent than the XO version. So many flavours are detected with the first sip, from wood chips to honey, vanilla, caramel and citrus. This rum is slightly stronger (43%) than most rums and bites in a pleasant way at first before slowly fading away finishing with a long lasting aftertaste.

This rum is much more complex than MGXO (and quite a bit more expensive also) but definitely worth purchasing if only to experience what a true premium rum tastes like.

MGXO is a definitely a better value ($50 CAD in my area) but the Master Select version ($200 CAD) is more complex and smooth. First class Rum!

1b27fe0e50e2c08434b185e44344eca6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

Very complex, halfway between sweet and woody. A very fine and powerful sipper that develops various flavours in the nose and in the mouth.
Too pricey maybe but it is the value of rare products.
A very very big step up in comparison with the other rims of the company.
Spare for one bottle (some others are real waste of money) before they change (very soon).