Posting your rating...

6.1/10 (43 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
14
14
2

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small download

Posted 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 261 ratings

White rum for mixing, not for drinking straight. It seemed a bit sharper than white Cubaney, but hard to tell for sure now.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Diplomatico Planas while in London. Nice bottle and label design. Floral notes and coconut straight to your nose and palate. Quite a kick at the end. The Planas is not meant to be a neat sipper rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 463 ratings

I read that this was replacing the Diplomatico Blanco, so I thought I'd try them both side by side with the hopes that this would be at least as good as that. It's close, but I slightly prefer the Blacno.

This is a tad less sweet than the Blanco and it's 47%abv rather than 40%. I read it was intended as a mixer. Not a bad business decision, as their Reserva is far better if you like straight rum. But I rate rums straight, and I slightly prefer the Blanco, so I'll give that the edge. Still, this is very good, and I believe this would make a great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Minty with peachy citrus aroma. Smells of coconut flesh with hint of sweetness from coconut water. Complement with buttery oak aroma.
Buttery mouth feel which provide a body to it. Coconut flesh flavour, nutty almond, hint of cedar wood but balance with good tartness.
Clean and medium length finishing. Grassy notes with alcohol minty-ness.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Quite nice on the nose coconut and chocolate, very good in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bstayer from United States with 10 ratings

Nice flavor, but has a harsher aftertaste as compared to Reserva Exclusiva. Would still recommend for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

its punchy and sweet. Delicious neat.
Great on ice but whats really nice is enjoying the way that this rum plays with citrus.
I feel like the chocolatey finish does something great to a daiquiri which is really different without being over exuberant as some characterful white rums can.
I have it sitting next to the reserva and guess what? The planas gets the guernsey most times.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 362 ratings

I have held off for months in trying this replacement for their Blanco. However, after reading enough of these reviews which mentioned notes of coconut, the 47% ABV, and it really being a gold rum aged for six years and then filtered to remove the color, I gave it a try at $29 US. I don't detect notes of coconut, but this one can indeed be sipped neat. Not many white rums can make this claim. It would also be a great mixer, allowing for rum flavors to come through without over powering the drink. I also have it rated as a good buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

We tried this at the NYC Rum Fest, and found it surprisingly smooth for a white rum, so we bought a bottle at Astor Wines. It does have a stronger alcohol nose than others, due to the 47% ABV.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

i admit it. i'm a barrel and age snob. i was expecting this to be harsh ethanol mixed with a splash of windex. it turns out to be a 6 year aged gold rum, charcoal filtered to be crystal clear (Which i again ask: "why?"). nose is missing the barrel and betrays this as a younger rum, maybe maybe a hint or raisin? the taste is clean, with some age, a LOT of black pepper, and some heavy syrupy fruit (like maybe mango but not strong... more like a viscosity thing). all in all not bad, would make a pretty fine daiqiuiri i think.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

faire un rhum blanc a partir d'un rhum ambré (décoloré en le filtrant sur du charbon...) idée surprenante pour un résultat tout aussi surprenant, un rhum blanc proche des sensation d'un rhum vieux.
a tester, il devient très intéressant pour élaborer des cocktails.
je valide