Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Planas rum

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Light and fruity on the nose, full of flavor with the first sip, and a long finish with a hint of sweetness left behind. Slightly over-proofed at 47% abv.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Diplomatico Planas while in London. Nice bottle and label design. Floral notes and coconut straight to your nose and palate. Quite a kick at the end. The Planas is not meant to be a neat sipper rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I read that this was replacing the Diplomatico Blanco, so I thought I'd try them both side by side with the hopes that this would be at least as good as that. It's close, but I slightly prefer the Blacno.

This is a tad less sweet than the Blanco and it's 47%abv rather than 40%. I read it was intended as a mixer. Not a bad business decision, as their Reserva is far better if you like straight rum. But I rate rums straight, and I slightly prefer the Blanco, so I'll give that the edge. Still, this is very good, and I believe this would make a great mixer.

Posted 12 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

We tried this at the NYC Rum Fest, and found it surprisingly smooth for a white rum, so we bought a bottle at Astor Wines. It does have a stronger alcohol nose than others, due to the 47% ABV.

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

i admit it. i'm a barrel and age snob. i was expecting this to be harsh ethanol mixed with a splash of windex. it turns out to be a 6 year aged gold rum, charcoal filtered to be crystal clear (Which i again ask: "why?"). nose is missing the barrel and betrays this as a younger rum, maybe maybe a hint or raisin? the taste is clean, with some age, a LOT of black pepper, and some heavy syrupy fruit (like maybe mango but not strong... more like a viscosity thing). all in all not bad, would make a pretty fine daiqiuiri i think.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Minty with peachy citrus aroma. Smells of coconut flesh with hint of sweetness from coconut water. Complement with buttery oak aroma.
Buttery mouth feel which provide a body to it. Coconut flesh flavour, nutty almond, hint of cedar wood but balance with good tartness.
Clean and medium length finishing. Grassy notes with alcohol minty-ness.

Posted about 3 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

faire un rhum blanc a partir d'un rhum ambré (décoloré en le filtrant sur du charbon...) idée surprenante pour un résultat tout aussi surprenant, un rhum blanc proche des sensation d'un rhum vieux.
a tester, il devient très intéressant pour élaborer des cocktails.
je valide

Posted 19 days ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 75 ratings

kan nydes som sipper, men er også god i drinks. giver lige det sidste pift

Posted 27 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Tak tady asi není moc co rozebírat je to rum snad vytvořený pro míchané drinky.

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Good Rum for cocktails, mojitos or piña colada if you want to stick to Venezuelan rums...

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

Quite nice on the nose coconut and chocolate, very good in cocktails.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Only really to be used as a mixer but it's fine for that

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Nejlépe chutná v kombinaci s bílou čokoládou, silnější, 47%, ovocná rumovější chuť

Posted 5 months ago by Bstayer from United States with 10 ratings

Nice flavor, but has a harsher aftertaste as compared to Reserva Exclusiva. Would still recommend for sipping.

Posted 7 months ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

This is the best white rum I have ever had
Yes it’s a mixer but WOW it’s smooth
This is a white rum done right
Absolutely loved it 👍👍

Posted 8 months ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

its punchy and sweet. Delicious neat.
Great on ice but whats really nice is enjoying the way that this rum plays with citrus.
I feel like the chocolatey finish does something great to a daiquiri which is really different without being over exuberant as some characterful white rums can.
I have it sitting next to the reserva and guess what? The planas gets the guernsey most times.

Posted 8 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I have held off for months in trying this replacement for their Blanco. However, after reading enough of these reviews which mentioned notes of coconut, the 47% ABV, and it really being a gold rum aged for six years and then filtered to remove the color, I gave it a try at $29 US. I don't detect notes of coconut, but this one can indeed be sipped neat. Not many white rums can make this claim. It would also be a great mixer, allowing for rum flavors to come through without over powering the drink. I also have it rated as a good buy.

Posted 12 months ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

I've had this several times over the past few months and couldn't quite decide where this one fit in. I'm happy it's a great mixer and most enjoyable in this format but not a sipper. I think mixed properly its a delight as its not overly strong but doesn't lose its sweetness in the process.

Posted 12 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Tasted it while at a short trip with Viking Line from Sweden to Åland when the Swedish importer was onboard and offered it.
In nose as well on the palate it’s lots of citrus, but you can also taste butter, mint and some toffee. The afterburn is quite short with soft spices.
It has a balanced sweetness, not nearly as sweet as the Reserva Exclusiva. So for me it’s an easy choice to choose this one before the DRE. I think it will fit well in cocktails, cause it will be noticed.

Posted about 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 23 ratings

A bit harsh nose, even after 15 minutes in the glass. Reminiscent of oak, but slightly chemical, with no appeasing esters to support it.
A neutral rum, easily drinkable and good mixer for those who prefer anonymous daiquiris and Mojitos, but of little interest to serve any other purposes. Faint and somewhat denatured oak and discrete fruit on the palate, no aftertaste to mention.

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Sharp on the nose with a heavy alcohol taste as a sipper, too strong to let any real flavor come out. As a mixer it overpowers some citrus and ginger ale, okay in Coke. Nothing special enough to add to my regular stock.

Posted about 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

J adore les produits diplomatico, un goût fruité et noix de coco, un peu fort en bouche. Je ne suis pas un amateur de blanc mais il est bon.

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

It starts a bit harsh, but mellows down soon. The aroma is woody and the taste fruity, but not overly sweet. Has a slight charcoal after taste and a warmth down the throat. Sips reasonably easy once the ice starts to melt and mixes even better. A very versatile bottle to have in stock.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

White rum for mixing, not for drinking straight. It seemed a bit sharper than white Cubaney, but hard to tell for sure now.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

You can feel slightly tropickou fruits such as coconut maybe some vanilla but to high alcohol percentage burn the taste at the end. Too strong for me