Posting your rating...

6.0/10 (38 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
11
13
1

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Diplomatico Planas while in London. Nice bottle and label design. Floral notes and coconut straight to your nose and palate. Quite a kick at the end. The Planas is not meant to be a neat sipper rum.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

I read that this was replacing the Diplomatico Blanco, so I thought I'd try them both side by side with the hopes that this would be at least as good as that. It's close, but I slightly prefer the Blacno.

This is a tad less sweet than the Blanco and it's 47%abv rather than 40%. I read it was intended as a mixer. Not a bad business decision, as their Reserva is far better if you like straight rum. But I rate rums straight, and I slightly prefer the Blanco, so I'll give that the edge. Still, this is very good, and I believe this would make a great mixer.

99b2726d07b11c014091c5624c717886.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 94 ratings

We tried this at the NYC Rum Fest, and found it surprisingly smooth for a white rum, so we bought a bottle at Astor Wines. It does have a stronger alcohol nose than others, due to the 47% ABV.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

i admit it. i'm a barrel and age snob. i was expecting this to be harsh ethanol mixed with a splash of windex. it turns out to be a 6 year aged gold rum, charcoal filtered to be crystal clear (Which i again ask: "why?"). nose is missing the barrel and betrays this as a younger rum, maybe maybe a hint or raisin? the taste is clean, with some age, a LOT of black pepper, and some heavy syrupy fruit (like maybe mango but not strong... more like a viscosity thing). all in all not bad, would make a pretty fine daiqiuiri i think.

366bfe030bff3208fb63e802a6538e99.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Minty with peachy citrus aroma. Smells of coconut flesh with hint of sweetness from coconut water. Complement with buttery oak aroma.
Buttery mouth feel which provide a body to it. Coconut flesh flavour, nutty almond, hint of cedar wood but balance with good tartness.
Clean and medium length finishing. Grassy notes with alcohol minty-ness.

F894f65da4981e042ca76e07bd4f33c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

faire un rhum blanc a partir d'un rhum ambré (décoloré en le filtrant sur du charbon...) idée surprenante pour un résultat tout aussi surprenant, un rhum blanc proche des sensation d'un rhum vieux.
a tester, il devient très intéressant pour élaborer des cocktails.
je valide

Df2a6a1cf9c410431b66c82c8a8b2abf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 75 ratings

kan nydes som sipper, men er også god i drinks. giver lige det sidste pift

8e56a4c4ab59bdb7b389990693b17733.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Tak tady asi není moc co rozebírat je to rum snad vytvořený pro míchané drinky.

6e651225ebb1feec717e6d379f75c87e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 41 ratings

Good Rum for cocktails, mojitos or piña colada if you want to stick to Venezuelan rums...

437dd25c89686834780d0770d7d44010.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

Quite nice on the nose coconut and chocolate, very good in cocktails.