Posting your rating...

6.2/10
49 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
17
16
3

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 52 ratings

i admit it. i'm a barrel and age snob. i was expecting this to be harsh ethanol mixed with a splash of windex. it turns out to be a 6 year aged gold rum, charcoal filtered to be crystal clear (Which i again ask: "why?"). nose is missing the barrel and betrays this as a younger rum, maybe maybe a hint or raisin? the taste is clean, with some age, a LOT of black pepper, and some heavy syrupy fruit (like maybe mango but not strong... more like a viscosity thing). all in all not bad, would make a pretty fine daiqiuiri i think.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Very sweet and winning nose, vanilla, white sugar, slightly sour and hints of almond, wooden bitterness and coffee beans. However, no complexity with a short finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gianluca from Norway with 4 ratings

Ok, maybe with some hints if pineapple and other tropical smells. Taste is just ok, maybe goes well for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 154 ratings

It was not my type of rum. But maybe for other it can be.....

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

I think they were just playing around with this one or ran too large of a batch and went straight to bottling.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Aged for up to 6 years in American white oak and ex bourbon casks. Gravity fed charcoal filtration to remove the colour. Aromas of fresh coconut a little earthy. Taste very smooth and creamy with a hint of coconut water. Bottled at 47% abs am impressed.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 4 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Shy and almost odorless at the beginning. Touch of nuttiness, fresh almond, walnut and kennels. Layer of rebel ethanol heat and whiff of nail polish remover with prickly wood restrain the rather fine aroma of cedar wood and scents of light cigar to come thru. (17/25)

P- Sweet cane, moist toffee cake with tart berries. Minimum oak influence making it taste still quite raw, but well mellow and harmless after long aging and the multiple filtration. May be too raw and insignificant on flavours but do like the firm body that comes with it. (18/25)

F- Short and clean, better deliver on dried white fruits sweetness, grassy fragrant with spirit heats linger. (16/25)

Balanced:- Pale but still quite rich and tasty with good body, only to be pull off by the scents of ethanol. (17/25)

Weighted Rate:- 68pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Not being a white rum drinker, I was surprised at the richness of taste, approaching ambassador's better dark rums. Not for sipping, but quite nice in for instance a mojito.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

... co jsem zatím pil, trochu chuť a vůně banánů. První bílý, který jsem schopne normálnně pít

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Yoan from France with 9 ratings

Des notes d'orange malgré son gout assez fort en bouche. Un arrrire gout tres agréable