Posting your rating...

6.2/10
49 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
17
16
3

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 52 ratings

i admit it. i'm a barrel and age snob. i was expecting this to be harsh ethanol mixed with a splash of windex. it turns out to be a 6 year aged gold rum, charcoal filtered to be crystal clear (Which i again ask: "why?"). nose is missing the barrel and betrays this as a younger rum, maybe maybe a hint or raisin? the taste is clean, with some age, a LOT of black pepper, and some heavy syrupy fruit (like maybe mango but not strong... more like a viscosity thing). all in all not bad, would make a pretty fine daiqiuiri i think.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by taz.c from France with 85 ratings

faire un rhum blanc a partir d'un rhum ambré (décoloré en le filtrant sur du charbon...) idée surprenante pour un résultat tout aussi surprenant, un rhum blanc proche des sensation d'un rhum vieux.
a tester, il devient très intéressant pour élaborer des cocktails.
je valide

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Somehow combines subtle with rich and interesting, with inoffensive and unchallenging.
When it comes to mojitos, I figure no-one will complain, and many will be pleasantly surprised. I figure that's a definition of 'recommendable to most'.

I may not rush out and buy another bottle (there's too many clairins, agricoles and Jamaican funkies to try yet) but I know I will buy another, as contrast and to introduce others to, and I know i will not be disappointed

Small 88

Posted 10 days ago by Passie from Netherlands with 59 ratings

Good mixer and maybe a sipper if you like. Not as good as the older 'blanco'. Quite soft, but this one has a bit more alcohol in the nose and palate. Toffee and caramel are present in this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by jepoycat from Philippines with 19 ratings

For sipping, it's nothing special, and the alcohol sting is apparent. But coconut notes dominate which is nice, and will hold its own on a cocktail.

Small img 0953

Posted 1 month ago by MerMama from United States with 30 ratings

This rum is a descent sipper, with a nice smooth coconut finish, but I prefer to use it to snazz up my tiki cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmien from Sweden with 8 ratings

Ytterligare en av de högre herrarna! Trevlig och rund doft med inslag av fat. Aningen vass men rund i tonen på smaken, något åt det brända hållet men sammanfattningen är riktigt trevlig!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by tbussineau from United States with 3 ratings

I have made great mix drinks with than. Not a fan of on ice

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Michal Ulík (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

Nejlepší bílý rum co jsem kdy měl, výborný samotný. Lahodná chuť, mohu jen doporučit. Jiný bílý rum doma nemá místo. Rád bych zajel do Destilerias Unidas S.A na exkurzi :-)

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 18 ratings

A good white. Definitley a step above some of those a little lower in price, so worth the few extra dollars I spent for this one. Great for mojitos!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 18 ratings

Good as a mixer, heavy on coconut and citrus. Strong for a white rum.