Posting your rating...

6.0/10 (38 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
11
13
1

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Aged for up to 6 years in American white oak and ex bourbon casks. Gravity fed charcoal filtration to remove the colour. Aromas of fresh coconut a little earthy. Taste very smooth and creamy with a hint of coconut water. Bottled at 47% abs am impressed.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Only really to be used as a mixer but it's fine for that

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

Nejlépe chutná v kombinaci s bílou čokoládou, silnější, 47%, ovocná rumovější chuť

684648ef1ea5fac918e39add5a137854.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Bstayer from United States with 10 ratings

Nice flavor, but has a harsher aftertaste as compared to Reserva Exclusiva. Would still recommend for sipping.

5f8159f179b5d1a4dd878775ce1e89e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

This is the best white rum I have ever had
Yes it’s a mixer but WOW it’s smooth
This is a white rum done right
Absolutely loved it 👍👍

83a654042f59b61e6325bfa7fc08d370.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

its punchy and sweet. Delicious neat.
Great on ice but whats really nice is enjoying the way that this rum plays with citrus.
I feel like the chocolatey finish does something great to a daiquiri which is really different without being over exuberant as some characterful white rums can.
I have it sitting next to the reserva and guess what? The planas gets the guernsey most times.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I have held off for months in trying this replacement for their Blanco. However, after reading enough of these reviews which mentioned notes of coconut, the 47% ABV, and it really being a gold rum aged for six years and then filtered to remove the color, I gave it a try at $29 US. I don't detect notes of coconut, but this one can indeed be sipped neat. Not many white rums can make this claim. It would also be a great mixer, allowing for rum flavors to come through without over powering the drink. I also have it rated as a good buy.

4889e8d235de614abac629e5c707e0e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

I've had this several times over the past few months and couldn't quite decide where this one fit in. I'm happy it's a great mixer and most enjoyable in this format but not a sipper. I think mixed properly its a delight as its not overly strong but doesn't lose its sweetness in the process.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 150 ratings

Tasted it while at a short trip with Viking Line from Sweden to Åland when the Swedish importer was onboard and offered it.
In nose as well on the palate it’s lots of citrus, but you can also taste butter, mint and some toffee. The afterburn is quite short with soft spices.
It has a balanced sweetness, not nearly as sweet as the Reserva Exclusiva. So for me it’s an easy choice to choose this one before the DRE. I think it will fit well in cocktails, cause it will be noticed.

51afa0200fb9cdd4be91809bc306b16c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 24 ratings

A bit harsh nose, even after 15 minutes in the glass. Reminiscent of oak, but slightly chemical, with no appeasing esters to support it.
A neutral rum, easily drinkable and good mixer for those who prefer anonymous daiquiris and Mojitos, but of little interest to serve any other purposes. Faint and somewhat denatured oak and discrete fruit on the palate, no aftertaste to mention.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Sharp on the nose with a heavy alcohol taste as a sipper, too strong to let any real flavor come out. As a mixer it overpowers some citrus and ginger ale, okay in Coke. Nothing special enough to add to my regular stock.