Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Mantuano rum

Rate Diplomatico Mantuano

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


164 Diplomatico Mantuano ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Pirate Tomas from Poland with 7 ratings

This is a good Ron! Really good best taste with Cola (Pepsi Max better than Cola Zero - more sweet). Perceptible dark anejo flavor with plums or maybe something like a old barrel or old ship. I think this is great rum for slow lazy days, cold night, autumn. Bottle colors like an autumn, brown and orange. I love sweet, dark, anejo rons...This is good proposition for me - every day internet pirate :D

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Sweet on the nose. Pretty balanced without being overly sweet. It's nice but nothing special

Posted over 1 year ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Powerful rum, more sour tones than f.e. zacapa 23. Much stronger mouthfeeling, darker tones here than zacapa or Don Q gran Anejo. Sweet, cane-like. Still nice for me personally.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Beautifully smooth rum, perfect for sipping over ice. (I keep mine in the freezer).

Posted over 1 year ago by Stijn from Belgium with 13 ratings

Almost as good as the reserve, but I like the reserva a little bit more

Posted over 2 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Very interesting.
Was wondering how exclusiva would taste if only you could somehow remove the extra sweetness...
Now I know and I can confirm it's good.
Missing the complexity as well...
Overall decent.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

It still has an intense alcohol flavour. Probably it needs some time to settle down a bit. But in this price range it is reasonable.

Posted 10 months ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

This is a good rum. Great flavor, no after burn, smooth across the tongue. Great price for what this rum brings to the table. If you haven’t tried any of the brands yet, start with this one.

Posted about 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

Sweet but not too much, strong alcohol sensation on the nose. Cheap.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 8 ratings

Nice spicy caramel nose. Mouth has almost none of that initial alcohol bite, but to me has a negatively over spiced flavor. For drinking neat, it's my least favorite of all the Diplomatico offerings. However, that spiciness peeks through the Coke flavor for a respectable Rum and Coke. Now that statement needs some clarification. I've been lucky enough to have had three bottles of Roble Viejo Ultra Añejo Rum delivered to me by Family traveling from Venezuela. This ROBLEY offering has a wonderful spicy woody caramel flavor profile that busts through the Coke flavor for an unbelievably exceptional Rum and Coke. This Diplomatico offering has the exact flavor profile, but to a lessor strength. With the Diplomatico Mantauno this flavor profile is precieved to break through by varying amounts in different seatings, where with the Roble there's never a question of it busting through. This still makes this Diplomatico offering my go to for Rum and Coke since the Roble Viejo Ultra Añejo Rum is only available at a duty free shop in the Venezuelan Airport.
As a sipping Rum I would have rated this Diplomatico offering lower, but gave it the 9 for it's value in a Rum and Coke

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Diplomatico Mantuano is a new item in the US. It makes a decent rum-and-coke drink for you, but this rum is too harsh for neat sipping experience. Go straight to the Reserva Exclusiva and be blown away with how good that rum really is.

Posted almost 3 years ago by TheMayor from Romania with 3 ratings

Not as good as the reserva exclusiva, but for its price its a steal.

Posted about 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

This is simply a great rum and has a smooth richness to it, but there are many alternatives that already nail this classification that are cheaper. Sure this one certainly has a smooth finish to it which gives that air of refinement to it, which may make the difference for some.

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Ostřejší lihovost, kořenitost, nádech pomeranče a meruňek, pampeliškový med. Alkohol je ještě trochu nevycválaný. Čokoláda, včelí plástve, krémovost. (82 b)
Chuť: Sladění vůně a chutě je dobré. Opět trochu ruší vyčnívající lihovost. Koření, nasládlost, ovocnost (pomerančová marmeláda). Propolis, skořice, v dozvuku hřejivý. (82 b)
Body: 82/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnávali jsme s kamarádem na dalším degustačním večeru v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Hlavní jádro ochutnávky tvořily čtyři Plantationy, k tomu novinka od Diplomática - Mantuano, pak jsme zkusili El Ron Prohibido Habanero a na úplný závěr pak pouťovou atrakci RedRum. Mantuano je takový základní rum, nic extra zajímavého, navíc působí ještě dost nevyzrále.

Posted 9 days ago by Kabi4 from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Just open the bottle and... wow... nice surprise...I was not expecting such nice full taste... not sharp... will go for one more...

Posted 11 days ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 17 ratings

At this level we’re getting past the endless sea of mixers into something a little more complex. It starts of sweet, then moves into a spicy flavor with a little burn in the mouth. Doesn’t burn the throat like a cheap rum can, and reminds me of what a sweet cigar taste like. And not the cheap gas station brands, but something from Central America with a natural leaf wrap. Has a sweet aroma which makes me think of a vanilla rice pudding or a good moist bread pudding. This is my first foray into the Diplomatico line and it definitely won’t be my last. I try everything straight in a glenncairn and add just a drop of bottled water after several tastings to open it up. I also do the Kentucky chew to get the full flavor. I don’t think I’d waste this by putting it in a cocktail, I’ll use a cheaper rum that’s less complex. So far this is is a top 5 for me, I’ve only reviewed 14 rums since joining, but have had many over my lifetime. I will only review what I’ve recently had and right at the time of tasting.

Posted 13 days ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

I like it, smooth, nice tones, seems like there is some sort of spice but really nice here!

Posted 13 days ago by Su from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Nice smooth, light in wood, high in vannila, fruity

Posted 23 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Dobrý rum, ale na samotné popíjení mi nechutnal. Do drinků ideální.

Posted 26 days ago by bigsizzy from United States with 3 ratings

Smooth.. thick.. I liked it. I got a.. slight banana? I’m new to liquor tasting but this is one of my top 5 aged rums. Worth trying.

Posted 26 days ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

I don’t have a wide collection of expensive rums. Mainly around 20€. But for this price this is for me one of the best to buy and available at a lot of liquor stores.

I have given it away as a present a couple of times to people who usually drink Bacardi or similar and they really liked it.

Posted about 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Posted about 1 month ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

I though this would be just Another sweet Diplomatico, but it's not. Ok it's still sweet but not overly sweet. This one has some more darker tones to it, chocolate, oak, molasses and some spicy ess. Neat sipper.

Posted about 1 month ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

Nothing stands out in this rum but it's pleasant, sweet vanilla and a blend that comes together nicely at a fair pricing. Good value for the money.

Posted about 1 month ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

dubious as to whether i would buy this so glad i did
Strong smooth neat and what a magnificent sipper or gulpings
buy buy buy