Posting your rating...

6.5/10 (194 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
18
78
59
26
6

Rate Diplomatico Mantuano

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


194 Diplomatico Mantuano ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Starts with sweet taste, ends dry, feeling oak wood, spicy, bit plum. Maybe to mix within some drinks...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 8 ratings

Nice spicy caramel nose. Mouth has almost none of that initial alcohol bite, but to me has a negatively over spiced flavor. For drinking neat, it's my least favorite of all the Diplomatico offerings. However, that spiciness peeks through the Coke flavor for a respectable Rum and Coke. Now that statement needs some clarification. I've been lucky enough to have had three bottles of Roble Viejo Ultra Añejo Rum delivered to me by Family traveling from Venezuela. This ROBLEY offering has a wonderful spicy woody caramel flavor profile that busts through the Coke flavor for an unbelievably exceptional Rum and Coke. This Diplomatico offering has the exact flavor profile, but to a lessor strength. With the Diplomatico Mantauno this flavor profile is precieved to break through by varying amounts in different seatings, where with the Roble there's never a question of it busting through. This still makes this Diplomatico offering my go to for Rum and Coke since the Roble Viejo Ultra Añejo Rum is only available at a duty free shop in the Venezuelan Airport.
As a sipping Rum I would have rated this Diplomatico offering lower, but gave it the 9 for it's value in a Rum and Coke

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Diplomatico Mantuano is a new item in the US. It makes a decent rum-and-coke drink for you, but this rum is too harsh for neat sipping experience. Go straight to the Reserva Exclusiva and be blown away with how good that rum really is.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TheMayor from Romania with 3 ratings

Not as good as the reserva exclusiva, but for its price its a steal.

Small 26820

Posted over 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This is simply a great rum and has a smooth richness to it, but there are many alternatives that already nail this classification that are cheaper. Sure this one certainly has a smooth finish to it which gives that air of refinement to it, which may make the difference for some.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Ostřejší lihovost, kořenitost, nádech pomeranče a meruňek, pampeliškový med. Alkohol je ještě trochu nevycválaný. Čokoláda, včelí plástve, krémovost. (82 b)
Chuť: Sladění vůně a chutě je dobré. Opět trochu ruší vyčnívající lihovost. Koření, nasládlost, ovocnost (pomerančová marmeláda). Propolis, skořice, v dozvuku hřejivý. (82 b)
Body: 82/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnávali jsme s kamarádem na dalším degustačním večeru v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Hlavní jádro ochutnávky tvořily čtyři Plantationy, k tomu novinka od Diplomática - Mantuano, pak jsme zkusili El Ron Prohibido Habanero a na úplný závěr pak pouťovou atrakci RedRum. Mantuano je takový základní rum, nic extra zajímavého, navíc působí ještě dost nevyzrále.

Small 20201127 182808

Posted 6 days ago by dsurtai1 from United States with 41 ratings

Let this one breath for awhile or put it on ice and you will taste notes of caramel, leather, and fruit. I honestly think it’s the best rum in the $25 range.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by zaks from France with 42 ratings

Vanillé et saveurs de sous bois. Agréable et facile à boire

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

The first thing I noticed about this rum was the beautiful nose. It really does smell better than most rums - rich and woody with the permeating wonder of really classical molasses. The taste did not disappoint. This is certainly better than the Reserva that it replaced, but not as sumptuous as the Reserva Exclusiva. Whether you prefer this one to the Exclusiva or not depends how you like your rum. This is certainly more classical. The Exclusiva is sweeter (added sugar), richer and more lushly rich. I'm not sure that makes the Exclusiva better for everyone. I'd say I'd prefer to drink this one more regularly and the Exclusiva on more special occasions or when I wanted to round off an evening. I'd describe them both as good sipping rums, but without doubt the Exclusiva has the edge there. You can tell the family connection, but they are rather different. Frankly, I want both in my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Walkee from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Good rum. I quite enjoyed it. I do like Diplomatico reserva. Mantuano is little less complex but still very good.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by rišo from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Nie je úplne márny, ale radšej si priplaťte na jeho staršieho brata 12r. Je to obrovský rozdiel v chuti a malý v cene