Posting your rating...
Plantation 2003 Trinidad rum

Plantation 2003 Trinidad

Caribbean | Aged

6.9/10 (56 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
7
4
22
16
3
1

Rate Plantation 2003 Trinidad

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


56 Plantation 2003 Trinidad ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

The Plantation Trinidad 2003 comes in a traditional Plantation bottle with the ribbons around it (picture).
 
This is a nice price worthy rum that you can drink neat aswell as doing cocktails and drinks with the Plantation Trinidad 2003 as base.
 
On the nose you get some alcohol and a fresh fruit with a little bit of vanilla and maybe also a hint of Bourbon from the casks. This rum smells a bit different from other rums I have tasted. Not so much sweetness in the aroma.
 
In mouth you get fruit, spices and oak. Some sweetness but not very sweet. This rum is smooth in the throat. The aftertaste is intense with lots of spices and oak. The aftertaste is not the best for me.
 
Not one of the best rums but it is a nice rum compared to other rums in the price range.

F9ed0b9b6bfdaaa17f7500be66f36fdd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 11 ratings

Probably need to rate this again at some point, because I am at the end of a cold. I think my smell and taste might be hidden a bit, but this is a very nice rum, aged in Bourbon casks in Trinidad and then shipped to France where it is then further matured in Cognac barrels as a lot of Plantation rum is.

1567cd0c6f783445408f29fa4c18d800.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Denna är nog förmodligen den bästa plantationromen, oerhört prisvärd vilket drar upp betyget en aning. Nyanserad smak av arrak och citrusfrukter, något annorlunda jämfört med andra från plantation vilket gör att den sticker ut och gillas skarpt!

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

I generally like darker complex rum with more body but this one really intrigued me. So smooth. Really incredible. Very balanced with terrific fruit notes and an oak finish. Not overwhelming by any means. Nice, light and a great sipper. Better over ice than neat. Would also be sensational as a mixer. This has definitely earned a permanent spot in my liquor cabinet

054f6754ca1d5a5ebfb2a14462e3bd19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 19 days ago by Richard from Sweden with 61 ratings

Sweet smell. Reminds of the XO, but not as smooth and more towards the harshness in the Grande Reserva

Fecb5069a838e68c9dcb30113efde753.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Maxbo from Romania with 1 rating

A bit strong kick for a sipper, but a great after taste.

6ba9daac9ebf1d9fe942ce74d044591a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Andreas from Sweden with 13 ratings

Just want to put it in my cabinet so there is nothing more to add. A good rum.

01673de0c533257ddb1a7104fed681f7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

This is a good rum. It starts out with a rich pineapple sugar flavor and branches out into some really nice fruity facets. Strong alcohol overtones. Honestly I get more bang for my buck with Stiggins or with Plantation 5 year.

0dfed08952ae675f71284486b58d34a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

Plantation have become a bit of my favorite brand but this was a bit of a let down. There is nothing wrong with this rum but there is also nothing great with it, the only thing that comes in mind when I think of it is average. Not bad but not good.

43563d3dad97da55f41ebe5396562124.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Trelony from Russian Federation with 35 ratings

My Trinidad was 2008 edition but I suppose it the same. Looking very good - the net, the bottle, the box, the labels and so on. They claim it is the ten years old rum tropical agening with one year of continental one. But I can't to recognize it. It was pretty hard to specify it as 10 years rum but it sill drinkable ))