Posting your rating...
Plantation Dark Double Aged rum

Plantation Dark Double Aged

Caribbean | Aged

6.8/10 (19 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
10
3
1

Rate Plantation Dark Double Aged

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 Plantation Dark Double Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Shermon Gardner from United States with 2 ratings

I love this double aged rum. It has a nice dark taste to it and excellent on the rocks. If you're looking for something different but not too overwhelming this is a great choice. One of my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

One pf really good Plantation on the ice rocks as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

Finally a plantation rum that I appreciate and love the flavour is complex and amazing aftertones aswell, very nice to drink on the rocks and would definitely buy a bottle ...

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Flauda from France with 12 ratings

A well made Rhum, pleasant in mouth, not too sweet, always appreciated, with a really good quality for its price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Wolf from Sweden with 1 rating

First time testing this Rum.
Nice spicy and mellow taste.

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by hammer640 (PREMIUM) from United States with 10 ratings

This is actually a pretty nice rum and it's big upside is you can find it in box chain grocers and the like in that 19.99 range. In a pinch it will do and then some. Mixes well but has a nice deep, mellow flavor which makes it more then enjoyable to sip with a good cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 18 ratings

Edit: After tasting it against Flor de Caña 12 and Mount Gay XO I noticed how inferior this rum is mostly due to the sugar content. It’s way too sweet compared with other rums with not that much difference in price.

I could easily turn it Into an everyday sipper, it is flavourful, smooth and reasonably cheap. Toasted pineapple, caramel and aniseed are the dominant notes on my palate, a tad too sweet but not cloying and the smooth burn makes it a nicer sipper for my taste.

One thing I have to say is that this rum tastes very much the same as the Plantation Overproof but obviously without steroids, I loved both of them, specially the Overproof version which is prob my favourite rum at the moment. That’s not a bad thing and I might be wrong but it really felt like it to me.

Regardless, I really like this rum and I will probably buy it again and I won’t mix it with anything because I am not a big fan of cocktails anyway, neat all the way.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 69 ratings

Plantation barely put a foot wrong imo. Some might complain about sugar and sweetness, but this here is perfect example of what an entry level sipping rum looks like. will make a decent cuba libre, but this one for me is the place to start on 'quality' rum, and is fairly inexpensive too. My favourite way to drink is with a couple of rocks and a squeeze of citrus peel

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

Not as good at the 3 Star but good in a pinch when you need a slightly aged rum

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by GaryGary from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

I wouldn’t really call it dark rum , its a little lighter, which to me makes it easy to drink neat, or preferably with a dash of lime or angostura bitters and a single ice cube.
Good mixer you can taste the difference.
I tried their white rum which I found a little sweet which put me off trying any other of their many offerings, I finally couldnt resist at £20 on sale at asda , and I was glad I did !
I prefer this ti the flor de cana 12 yr old I also bought at asda for £35, which I regret a little.