Posting your rating...
Gosling's Gold rum

Rate Gosling's Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 Gosling's Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Mitch from United States with 2 ratings

This is what rum tastes like. Not garbaged up w flavorings but gently sweet. For mixing I prefer Goslins black but this is a nice lite. First had it in Bermuda where they breathe rum. Easy rum swizzle cheat: mix any raspberry lemonade w/ 30% pineapple juice. Toss in equal parts Goslins Black 140 and Gold 80 you have to your desired level of booziness. Top w a dash of Rose’s Red or cherry juice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Standard gold rum that was poor from the start.. not a great standard

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Really didnt find anything in this one, only alcoholic and caramel aroma, thats all. Kind of disappointed.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Straw color. No real complexity. Aroma in the bottle and in my snifter really is just an alcohol fragrance. Fairly basic flavor with some spiciness and an immediate and lengthy burn. But only 80 proof. A little bit of oakiness to it. Definitely a bit of an edge. Works best as a mixing rum especially in various carbonated beverages.

Posted over 7 years ago by Barlee from United States with 7 ratings

wanted to try the Bermuda style after reading several good reviews. I found it lighter than I expected, but still a fine rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Quite tasty as a sipper with ice, to my surprise, but there is a little bit of a burn after it goes down.

Posted 3 months ago by cmpopp1 from United States with 12 ratings

Lighter than I expected. Brilliant rum for a Cuba Libre. Didn’t like it neat, but on the rocks was ok. Underwhelming as a sipper. I’d buy it again, but would probably only pull it out on the summer for mixed drinks. Nothing special, but definitely not bad by a long shot. Your mileage may vary, but I personally enjoyed it.

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Tastes like a natural rum, like cdi west indies bot more herb.

Smell: vanilla, citrus, dry fruits
Taste: vanilla, citrus, caramel/toffee, bitterness

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Posted over 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

Good color but biting. Needed multiple limes to take edge off

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

The initial smell and taste is harch. Lots of alcohol burn, but after a few minutes on ice a subtle floral and caramel flavour emerges and the alcohol subsides a bit. It still does not quite make a sipping rum, although I have just put the come back in the fridge without opening it, but would make a very good versatile mixer!

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

It is standard light rum with floral aroma suitable for cocktails, similar to Havana Club 3/7y.

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Standard rum for mixing. Neat it's too alcohol tasting and too thin. Taste includes burnt sugar and chemical sweetener. Not for drinking neat but certainly not terrible or anything.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

At least the Gosling's Gold does not have the very unpleasant rubber smell to it like the Black Seal does. The Gold bottle looks very cheap, the color is very weak and pale, a hint of sweetness to the nose. Not bad for a Gold rum, not good either. Mix it with Coke and down it goes!

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Sweet and slightly butterscotchy but the nose is of cleaning product.

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Intense butterscotch aroma with floral hints and traces of vanilla. Initial sweetness leads to complex caramel flavours and layers of spice. Smooth to sip but not a complex flavour ,similar to black and would make somewhat of a dark and stormy.

Posted almost 3 years ago by ChameleonSkin from United States with 18 ratings

It's gold. It has no character. It sits weeping silently at the back of my liquor cabinet, waiting for someone to take it out and notice it every once in a while. There's just not much of a good reason to do so.

I inherited a bottle of this after a party, and that's exactly what it's good for. Save it for when your Aunt Edith who drinks boxed wine comes over for dinner, and you're making mixed drinks for everyone. Use this in her mai tai and use something good in every one else's. Use the saved money to buy a nice bottle of Kirk & Sweeney's or something like that.

Posted about 3 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Ένας το τιτλοφόρησε "not good" και του έβαλε 6 ..... άλλος το τιτλοφόρησε "Not bad" και του έδωσε επίσης 6. Το ήπια σε σφηνάκι, το ήπια σκέτο , το ήπια με φλούδα πορτοκαλιού ..... και στις τρεις εκδοχές του μου άφησε μια ευχάριστη αίσθηση . Η γεύση του είναι ωραία και αφήνει μια πολύ ελαφριά γλύκα στο τέλος, παρόλα αυτά δεν έχει διάρκεια και σχεδόν καθόλου αρώματα, γι αυτό και το 6αρι ...... Άλλη μια καλή, απλή επιλογή όταν πρόκειται, για φτηνό ρούμι !!!!

Posted about 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Hey I got to try this rum at a buddies place , the lite amber color is not as appealing in the glass as a nicely aged rum but this rum when mixed with coke has a sweeet butterscotch taste .i found myself pouring myself another as the taste was something familiar that I couldn't put my finger on like a candy from my youth , not sure if it's an all night drinker but to have a couple glasses with friends this rum delights with its sweet candy taste .

Posted over 3 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

Gold in colour, flavour is like gasoline and even smells like cheap Bacardi. The black seal is alright but, that's about it for Goslings and me.

Posted over 3 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

Not as good as their Black Seal. It's nice, but not in my list of goto mixing rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Very light taste. A little too light if you are a connoisseur. Recommend as an entry level.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Very light rum. Seems like it relies more on colouring than on congeners. Difficult to choose over anything else on the shelf.

Posted about 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

I'm a big Goslings fan so I've been trying to find this rum for a while. It's fairly smooth but doesn't have much flavour to it, reminded me of a slightly sweeter Mount Gay Eclipse. Probably very good for mixing but I think I will stick to the black seal.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

it is fine as an amber but not as smooth or as much flavour as it darker brother