Posting your rating...
Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year rum

Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year

Australia | Aged

6.9/10
7 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
1

Rate Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

7 Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 216 ratings

This is a very nice locally made rum here in Queensland. Made from molasses and distilled in both ex brandy and charred bourbon barrels for 5 years. They even use their own home grown yeast !
Has one of the best noses of any rum i've tried. Toffee , caramel and a kind of spicey citrus.
Sips beautifully , on its own or with an ice cube. Unfortunately its not a very good mixer , the citrus taste which is like a spicey marmalade , doesn't blend well... sort of like Pyrat XO. Will tour the Distillery in the near future and try some of the up market rums !

Small e8351995 ea1b 4008 ba5d 23353d54b5a5

Posted 1 month ago by Vincent from Australia with 37 ratings

Better than your average buddy, but I find this a bit pungent and faux.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Sykes024 from Australia with 19 ratings

I like it but they have added extra sugar better than Bundaberg really vanilla caramel oak tones to this but again the too much sugar comes through for real rum lovers

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Damon Shurville from Australia with 14 ratings

I normally avoid Australian Rums, Bundaberg in particular as I find them too harsh and basic for my taste. Apparently this is a common feeling with Europeans and when i recently toured the Bundaberg distillery they even said their rum wasnt refined enough for the European palate and most of their rum was bought by Aussies here and when on holiday abroad.

Anyway, back to Beenleigh. i was at a bar in Sydney and explained to the Barman the sort of Rums I liked and he suggested I try this. Very nice, smooth, clean flavour and not too sweet for a spiced rum. Another bottle added to the rotation of my collection :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 135 ratings

Once again an aussie drink shines through
Nice bottle and great smell to the drink
It is a a powerful drink but sutle to the palate and you shud buy one asap

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2808 ratings

Enjoyed some Beenleigh 5y Double Barrel Rum while vacationing in Melbourne. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Pure alcohol, oak, citrus and mild toffee to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Mix it up and down it goes.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by mitch from Australia with 5 ratings

Purchas price is reasonable and taste is pretty good. Great flavors throughout with what seems like a hint of vanilla. I would definitely buy this rum agai