Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (182 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
19
43
47
49
16

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


182 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Tried the Gosling's Black Seal and Family Reserve back-to-back and I was very surprised how big the difference is between these two rums. The Family Reserve tastes like a proper aged dark rum. It reminds me quite a lot about the El Dorado 12 year old rum in flavor profile. There is a hint of raisin flavor to bring in just a bit of sweetness, but overall the Family Reserve is very dry rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A nice champagne bottle with wax and a steel band around it. Each bottle has its own number. The rum comes in a nice wooden box. High class in the presentation (picture).

This rum have to rest in the glass for a bit. At first it´s a lot of oak but when the rum rests in the glass you get sweet aroma with caramel, raisins and spice.

The taste is spice and a bit sweet. I expected it to be sweeter. The finish is long and mild. This rum really have to rest in the glass before you drink it.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 13 ratings

Gosling's Family Reserve is a blend from Bermuda. It comes from the same barrels as the Black Seal but is aged up to 16 years.
It has a very complex spicy nose which is really intense. It can literally fill the whole room.
Gosling's Family Reserve is a true premium rum delivered in a nice wax sealed and hand numbered bottle. It is very complex and combines a litte sweetness with nuances of wood. It has spices, dried fruit, choclate and tabcco and is very well balancedand; soft all the way.
I was lucky to get my one for only $60 in Chicago and can only recommend to give it a try. You won't regret it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The only Gosling's rum available locally is Gosling's Black Seal and frankly I was not all that impressed with it. I've read the hype and felt it didn't come close to living up to it. I can across the Gosling's Family Reserve rum at Dorignac's grocery store in New Orleans and decided to get a bottle to try. I am finally getting around to sampling it.

First a word on the presentation...this is old school at its finest. The deep green glass champagne bottle is sealed with a thick black wax which includes a wide pull band to help unseal the wax. Each bottle is label with its own bottle number (mine is 5867/14) and is placed in a straw-filled wooden box. Homage to the old school.

Pouring the rum into a snifter revealed just how dark this rum is. Almost like new motor oil (and I do NOT mean that in any negative way -- just that the hue is a rich, dark brown of a type reminding me of how certain motor oils look). The aroma is sharp and crisp revealing a pepperiness that becomes apparent on the initial flavor. Some sweetness along with the peppery sting and a buttery texture. There clearly are other flavors but the pepperiness obscures them too much for me to detect what they are (others with more refined palates than mine will have to chime in). Some oak tones as well but mild. The finish is a bit dry and the oak stays with you. Very smooth with not a burn but a nice warmth that is far from overbearing. Personally I would not choose this as a sipping rum but it definitely qualifies as one. It's not for everyone but it is a pretty good rum. I know I may ruffle some feathers but even though this is a premium rum I like it quite well in Coke Zero. The pepperiness complements the Coke Zero flavor making for a unique combination. Add a little lime and you've got an awfully good Cuba Libre. But at approximately $70 (USD) a bottle it's kind of an expensive Cuba Libre.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

A cool bottle, that contains something that, to me, feels a little bit like a spiced rum. The nose is a little oaky and bittersweet, with dominant notes of cloves. The taste is kinda special. It contains a healty dose of slightly bitter barrel notes and hints of dates and allspice. Unfortunately not really to my liking.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Looking for a sweet dark old rum to savor with a big cigar? This one would be my choice.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Very dark complexion. Not much in the nose - except vanilla and tobacco. This rum needs time to develop its taste. It is then full of tobacco, oak and dark chocolate. Aftertaste: a lot of dark chocolate. I like this kind of rum, but can understand if it is not to everybodys taste.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 52 ratings

Lovely dark rum that is smooth, sweet, molasses with a hint of citrus and honey. Id buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 25 ratings

This one had a great color when I poured it into my glass. It is pleasant on the nose with a little edge. Initial taste on the tongue is strong and rich with some heat. The pleasant flavour and heat last long into the aftertaste. I tried this one neat and it was very good.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

It's really pretty good. Not the brice I'd like for how it tastes, but they have to have at least one high end product.

Very very dark color, strong oak tones mix well with the usual black seal flavors for a more mature and strong mouth feel.
While it stands ok on its own, it pairs perfectly with dark chocolate. Highly recommend a nice dark bar with a glass of this.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

Amazingly, I found a bar that had about a half dozens sipping rums on its rack. A guy at the bar identified this rum as his favorite among them. This is a very good rum, very smooth, little or no burn. However, its price point is its downfall and I deducted a point for it. It is not 30 dollars better than my favorite rum. The bar owner said it had jumped so much in price lately that he would not continue to stock it. Apparently, their desire to go up market could hurt their sales.