Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


178 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

52acf3a11e3f6acf119061d53fc090d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Quite a unique taste, I always wondered how people got chocolate from tasting rum, but that's the first thing that I noticed with this. Nice dark mahogany colour, interesting flavours and good aroma. Top marks for presentation. Worth having.

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A nice champagne bottle with wax and a steel band around it. Each bottle has its own number. The rum comes in a nice wooden box. High class in the presentation (picture).

This rum have to rest in the glass for a bit. At first it´s a lot of oak but when the rum rests in the glass you get sweet aroma with caramel, raisins and spice.

The taste is spice and a bit sweet. I expected it to be sweeter. The finish is long and mild. This rum really have to rest in the glass before you drink it.

78e1ccbb99e03165907933c8c8a5ecac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 13 ratings

Gosling's Family Reserve is a blend from Bermuda. It comes from the same barrels as the Black Seal but is aged up to 16 years.
It has a very complex spicy nose which is really intense. It can literally fill the whole room.
Gosling's Family Reserve is a true premium rum delivered in a nice wax sealed and hand numbered bottle. It is very complex and combines a litte sweetness with nuances of wood. It has spices, dried fruit, choclate and tabcco and is very well balancedand; soft all the way.
I was lucky to get my one for only $60 in Chicago and can only recommend to give it a try. You won't regret it.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

A cool bottle, that contains something that, to me, feels a little bit like a spiced rum. The nose is a little oaky and bittersweet, with dominant notes of cloves. The taste is kinda special. It contains a healty dose of slightly bitter barrel notes and hints of dates and allspice. Unfortunately not really to my liking.

672a6c50a4e44739f4339e5d5fdf80ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Looking for a sweet dark old rum to savor with a big cigar? This one would be my choice.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The only Gosling's rum available locally is Gosling's Black Seal and frankly I was not all that impressed with it. I've read the hype and felt it didn't come close to living up to it. I can across the Gosling's Family Reserve rum at Dorignac's grocery store in New Orleans and decided to get a bottle to try. I am finally getting around to sampling it.

First a word on the presentation...this is old school at its finest. The deep green glass champagne bottle is sealed with a thick black wax which includes a wide pull band to help unseal the wax. Each bottle is label with its own bottle number (mine is 5867/14) and is placed in a straw-filled wooden box. Homage to the old school.

Pouring the rum into a snifter revealed just how dark this rum is. Almost like new motor oil (and I do NOT mean that in any negative way -- just that the hue is a rich, dark brown of a type reminding me of how certain motor oils look). The aroma is sharp and crisp revealing a pepperiness that becomes apparent on the initial flavor. Some sweetness along with the peppery sting and a buttery texture. There clearly are other flavors but the pepperiness obscures them too much for me to detect what they are (others with more refined palates than mine will have to chime in). Some oak tones as well but mild. The finish is a bit dry and the oak stays with you. Very smooth with not a burn but a nice warmth that is far from overbearing. Personally I would not choose this as a sipping rum but it definitely qualifies as one. It's not for everyone but it is a pretty good rum. I know I may ruffle some feathers but even though this is a premium rum I like it quite well in Coke Zero. The pepperiness complements the Coke Zero flavor making for a unique combination. Add a little lime and you've got an awfully good Cuba Libre. But at approximately $70 (USD) a bottle it's kind of an expensive Cuba Libre.

9dea275265630cbb7eb28ce8ff1f0c48.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Very dark complexion. Not much in the nose - except vanilla and tobacco. This rum needs time to develop its taste. It is then full of tobacco, oak and dark chocolate. Aftertaste: a lot of dark chocolate. I like this kind of rum, but can understand if it is not to everybodys taste.

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

It's really pretty good. Not the brice I'd like for how it tastes, but they have to have at least one high end product.

Very very dark color, strong oak tones mix well with the usual black seal flavors for a more mature and strong mouth feel.
While it stands ok on its own, it pairs perfectly with dark chocolate. Highly recommend a nice dark bar with a glass of this.

82ddf50a02f21d56746c8c2b6f69677a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

Amazingly, I found a bar that had about a half dozens sipping rums on its rack. A guy at the bar identified this rum as his favorite among them. This is a very good rum, very smooth, little or no burn. However, its price point is its downfall and I deducted a point for it. It is not 30 dollars better than my favorite rum. The bar owner said it had jumped so much in price lately that he would not continue to stock it. Apparently, their desire to go up market could hurt their sales.

Bd0e50d7b799dbb036da1097bed9b02d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Shane Conner from Canada with 11 ratings

Aged well, and very smooth. Nice caramel flavour. Definitely a top shelf. Over ice is the best

441b8c7417f7416e1aab13f599da7620.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by CBags from United States with 10 ratings

Was bought a bottle of this for my 40th, and it did not disappoint!